oh where oh where can i find decent internet???!!!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Bonn
May 9th 2006
Published: May 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post


Should I continue the (my) tradition of bad mouthing countries and towns that I am currently visiting?

SURE.

I have been here for 2 dazs and everz internet cafe has been a dive.

Everything here is expensive, from the bus-tram-train tickets to the cellphone calls back home, to stupid key deposit that I had to pay for my room (50 euros!!)

So now that I am in Bonn -- Bonn Bad Godesberg to be exact, I am finding it to be quite the quiet town. There seems to be not much to do other than sit in the park, walk in the park, sit at the biergardens, sit at the cafes...

And these damn trees! They are very pretty with the pink and yellow flowers but they are shedding pollen like mad. Whatever they are, I am allergic to them.


* * *

And now to say something nice.


I got to do laundry yesterday! In a washing machine! Oh I was gonna cry... It was such a beautiful sight to see my clothes spin and bubble. I finallz washed my cords and my jeans, each had I worn for 3 or so weeks straight. Everything smelled so nice, and to top it off, they even had a dryer! Oh how luxurious my life has become.




I cracked 2 German jokes (in German) in 2 days.

First one was regarding the breakfast that they forced me to sign up for, 80 Euros for a month. I didnt want to buy it b-c I am pretty sure for 80 Euros I can do better than whatever they serve me, so I asked the lady what the food is like for breakfast.

She said ... Wurst, Käse, bröt...

So I said, ich esse kein Fleish und keine Käse... not too sure on the endings of those, but she got my idea.

So then she made a couple of phone calls to ask if I HAD to buy breakfast, if an exception can be made, and what else was served that she didn't know about. And on the other end of the phone, the guy asked me if I can eat tomatoes, cucumbers... well duh, of course I can, I just don't eat meat! And then he asked if I eat jam, or juice.. DUH questions.

So looks like I HAD to buy breakfast. The ladz was trying to be nice, she said to me that later on in the week I can ask the food preparer to buy special vegetarian things for me, that that is allowed, because they sometimes have people coming in with special diets (no pork, for example), but for now there is bröt jam.

So I said to her

ich esse Bröt und trinke Wasser, wie ein Gefängnis!

(hew, that was a long setup to my joke)
Basically, I said, I can eat bread and drink water, just like in a prison.

And she laughed. She got my joke.



Second joke, very few people got.
We had to write a direct question today in class (ie what time is it) and hten someone else had to change it into an indirect question (ie, she wants to know, what the time is).

I wrote a nonsensical question-

warum sind die Gurken grün?
(why are cucumbers green)

This is a joke because in the Polish class during the second session, we had done the same thing and I asked the same question (of course no one here would know that).

Alas. Joke was lost. The teacher had to explain it to everyone. And then she said here in Germany, they ask, why is the banana curved.


hahha. ok. That's it for today. My goal for today is to find an internet cafe that has a usb port so I can upload some pictures.



Advertisement



13th May 2006

I get your jokes
You are hilarius (...arghhh how do you spell that?) Miss you more than I could possible express...

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb