Long Days, Long Nights


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
March 5th 2009
Published: March 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Donor!!!Donor!!!Donor!!!

Everyone should experience this delectable sandwich in their lifetime!
Well I am nearing the end of week 2 and starting to really love this place! The sun is finally staying out for more then a few minutes! Tuesday was warm enough that I didn't need my heavy coat!! But this week we started our full load of classes! They require us to do the German language course which is from 9-12:30 and then this week we started the German culture/conversation course which is from 2-5!! So for 4 more weeks it's going to be intense..almost like I'm in high school again! But it's amazing how much German I have learned in one week! One of the German language teachers speaks no english and so for 3 1/2 hours I hear fsldkjfjfdklafldne!! She also has said my name more ways then I thought were possible! I swear sometimes it's so far off I think she's calling me diarrhea! Oh and I discovered this little Turkish fast food chain that serves "Donors." For 2 euros I can get this huge flatbread sandwhich filled with meat, cheese, veggies, and topped off which this amazing creamy yogurt-cucumber sauce!! And the guy who works in the store is cute, but he speaks no English! And it is taking me FOREVER to go grocery shopping!! Since all labels are in German I have to look up the ingredients in my dictionary to make sure it's what I think it is! I made the mistake of buying this laxative cereal..that was a fun time! :-/ And I just found out that I will be taking Italian in German instruction!! It's hard enough understanding Italian in English! ha

I am so glad tomorrow is Friday!!! After everyday I am so mentally drained all I want to do is sleep..my group is ready to go out to the pubs every night, but I just can't handle that much partying!! Last night I did go this little bar in one of the student dorms and I met a lot of exchange students that just got in from other parts of Europe! Marburg is truly a college town! The real semester hasn't even started and there are so many young people here already! Oh and I learned something interesting today in my culture class...the numbers 18, 88, and letters HH are not used in Germany. The 18 refers to letters A and H and 88 to H and H in the alphabet which stands for Adolf Hiter and Heil Hitler (88 and HH). Also in Marburg there was a outbreak of a virus similar to Ebola in the 1960s..30 people died!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb