Frankfurt City


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
December 1st 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Bachelor PartyBachelor PartyBachelor Party

We walked by these guys drinking at the Christmas Market, and they offered us a drink. We got to sign this guys red suit thiny, and then take a couple shots of Vodka with him.

Weekend In Frankfurt



Friday afternoon, we hit the road to embark on a weekend trip to Frankfurt City. Sandras mother had bought us the trip to the city, including two nights at a four star hotel. Frankfurt being the 5th largest city in Germany with a population of just over 670,000, is the financial and transportation centre of Germany, and the largest financial centre in continental Europe. The city has much to offer. Of course, it would be an amazing city to visit with countless dollars, and a plan of action. However, when we travel to a city, we simply enjoy walking around, taking in the sights, the views, and the architecture. I hate having a plan. The days never go wasted when we simply enter the city, start walking around, and let our day create itself.

The drive to Frankfurt didn’t take very long. It seemed like it took about an hour, and we were there. Obviously, we first checked into out hotel, and then took a short walk through the city. We didn’t leave for Frankfurt until Sandra got out of work on Friday, so by the time we were on foot in the city, it was
Forrest Gump ShotForrest Gump ShotForrest Gump Shot

With view of Main River, and Frankfurt City
already dark. Nothing too exciting happened Friday night, we just went out and grabbed some dinner. I like cities because they have more American type foods. We spotted a Pizza Hut, which is the first one I have seen yet away from the USA. It was good, but they didn’t have cheesy bread sticks, which I thought was kind of a bummer. I think the cheese sticks at the Pizza Huts back home are the best part of Pizza Hut, but whatever.

Saturday - A Very Long Day



Saturday was really fun. Firstly, I dont know what is wrong with me, but for some reason I have adapted to a very weird sleeping schedule. I seem to be able to stay up all night, and then get little sleep throughout the day. Probably because I am not working currently, and I do not engage in any stressful activities. My body has no reason to sleep, because I am not tired. Anyway, Friday night I stayed up all night waiting for Saturday morning. Along with our room was the inclusion of an enormous breakfast buffet between 6:30 and 10:00 AM. So, when the clock struck 6:30, I was out
MeMeMe

On top of Main Tower
the door while Sandra continued to sleep. It was great, they had breads, yogurt, fruit, cereal, crepes, eggs, sausage, bacon, homefries, and even fried chicken. I thought that it was a little weird to see fried chicken on a breakfast buffet. But anyway, it beat the hell out of the silly breakfast that Sandra eats. It’s actually funny, because germans eat a very diferent breakfast then us Americans. I guess you could say it is more healthy. Bread with cucumbers, tomatos, and cheese, and maybe some salami. One of the pictures I took is a picture of how different our breakfast plates look. You can see the difference if you check out the picture.

Once we finished breakfast, we jumped onto a bus, and made it to the city centre by 10 AM. I like for Sandra to start out her day on a good note, and she is not much of a morning person, so I suggested doing a little shopping to keep spirits high. She knew of a very interesting, miniature mall, that was right near where we were. This shopping area was a very good building design. We took like 5 escalators to get to the
Buck FushBuck FushBuck Fush

If you dont get it, swap the "B" and "F", and then you will....
top floor, and made our way to the different stores. The walkway was sort of rectangular shaped, and the floor was on a slant, so we just walked from store to store, stopping at the shops of particular interest, eventually ending back on the bottom floor. The “Buck Fush” shirt was in one of these stores. I swear, I laughed about that shirt for the rest of the day. Every half hour I would just say it aloud, and laugh to myself. It was quite comical. Consult the pictures if you dont know what I am talking about.

Another store that I went to was interesting. As we were walking around going from store to store, we began to notice that every time we walked around one particular corner, we would smell something very nice. Like flowers, or candles. Eventually we made it to the level, and I went in the store on this corner. The store smelled so good that it effected that whole side of the building. Regardless of what floor you were on, if you were on that side of the building, you would smell this store. So, I was interested in it. I originally thought
MeMeMe

At Christmas Market Drinking Christmas Wine
that it was a candle shop. I thought that it would be a good present for Sandra. Plus she was off in a clothing store, so I had a second to do a quick 5 minute shop for a present to buy for her. Well, it wasn’t a candle store. It was a store that sold bath and body lotions, and shower gels, and moisturizers, etc. I spoke to the woman that worked there for a few minutes, and she gave me a little tour of the shop. Even though it was girly, I found it quite interesting. What made it different, was a lot of the merchandise was in brick form. They had these little bricks, as hard as a rock, and you just put them in a bath tub while you take a bath, and it makes the water soapy, and smell good. They had these little bricks that were kind of like wax, and you rub them on your arm to get moisturizer. They had tons of stuff, and tons of smells. Apparently, they have a few stores in the states as well, in New York and Chicago. Anyway, I bought Sandra a little tube of shower
SandraSandraSandra

At the Smoothie Counter
gel, and one of those bricks that fealt like wax, with kind of a zesty smell of moisturizer. She liked it. Any girl would.

Afterwards, as we were walking through the city, we came upon the Main Tower (pronounced mine). Sandras mother had told us that we should go to the top, because the view is spectacular. Even though it wasn’t the most clear day, we decided to do this. She was right, the view was great. One of the pictures that Sandra took I particulary like. The one with the light sky in the background, and I am facing away from the camera. Yeah, it’s a good one...

Continueing our day, we also came upon a park area with an old building. In front of the building was a sculpture, and around the sculpture was a little miniature, circular, ice rink, where kids were ice skating. I have a picture of this as well. Sandra was very excited, and also wanted to be included in the ice skating. It was only about 20 bucks for the two of us to rent skates, and purchase tickets. So, we did, and we went ice skating for about 45 minutes.
Big GrillBig GrillBig Grill

At the Christmas Market
It was really fun. The rink was small, but it was fun none the less. It was funny too, because aside from parents helping there kids up when they fall, we were two of the only adults on the rink. There were a few other older couples, but it was mostly a kid thing. The kids loved it. They were flying all over the place. Falling, sliding....It was actually kind of funny because I kept laughing at how funny it was that we were skating around and we had to keep dodgeing fallen kids, and watch out for kids sliding by. I was actually a litle scared that I was going to clean out one of those little kids. It would have been funny, but I would of fealt bad either way.

After we had some fun skating, we walked some more, and eventually had to stop for a bathroom break. So, we went down some steps into an underground McDonalds. It’s funny, because over here I see a lot of mens room attendants. I dont see that very often in America. Anyway, the mens room attnedant happened to be female, which I thought was a little strange. Here
FunnyFunnyFunny

The point of this picture was to get the cops in the background who seem to be off duty, buying some sausages or something.
I am standing at the urinal, and she is just standing next to me cleaning the sinks, stocking the paper towel, etc. Whatever, I had to go bad enough where I didn’t care. I didn’t have any Euros on me, so I ended up giving her four American quarters. She looked at me with this really weird look, wondering how much it was worth. I check the exchange rate a lot, so I knew that 1 dollar was around 75 cents in Euros. Anyway, when we were on our way back up to the street we spotted a Smoothie Shop. It was awesome. They had like twenty different kinds of smoothies, all in big jugs on the counter. I took a picture of it, so check it out. Anyway, I got one with banana, strawberry, orange, etc. It was awesome. Really hit the spot.

Shortly after this, we randomly walked upon the Christmas Market. This was nice, but a bit crowded. It was a section of the city with a walking path with shops and restaurants, and people had set up there own drinking stands, and food stands. And of course, there were people everywhere. I love Europe though,
BucklesBucklesBuckles

A wall of Buckles. This made me think of my best friend Wes. He likes buckles...
because the drinking laws are different than back home. I could be wrong, but as far as I know, the only places where you can drink on the street in America, is Las Vegas, and the French Quarter in New Orleans. It’s much more laid back here. Of course, it probably wouldn’t be a good idea to walk down the street with a bottle of Jack in your hand screaming “whooooo” but for the most part, it’s pretty chill. So anyway, they had this special christmas drink called Christmas wine. I guess they make it like a how apple cider, with wine. Apple cider is the only thing I can compare it too. And, they put a shot of rum, or whisky, or whatever else you want in it. So, we first grabbed some food. I dont like drinking on an empty stomach. I ate a cheeseburger and a beer. By the way, German beer is quite nice. Sandra ate a hot bowl of soup. Then we grabbed some Christmas Wine, and chilled for about an hour. I tried one with James Cook Rum, and one with some kind of Schnapps. It was delicious. We didn’t get “drunk”, but just
SandraSandraSandra

And Erisch The Pony
a little buzzy. Enough to start acting silly. Right when we started walking away, we met these guys who were doing Christmas Shots. Somehow, we started a conversation, and we ended up talking with them for a few minutes. There is a picture of this. The guy in the red santa outfit was getting married, so it was his bachelor party. Sandra and I signed his outfit with a marker, and then did some shots with him. It was fun, but put us in an even more silly mood.

Somehow, after this we made our way to one of the bridges on the Main River. Both of us had to go to the bathroom, very badly. So we crossed the bridge and started looking for a place to go. No such luck. Eventually, we got so desperate, that we waited until no one was around, and we went in this little park area where there were some trees. Not entirely appropriate, but we were a little buzzy, and we’re in our twenties. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it. We got a good laugh though. The funny thing was, about 15 minutes later we had to go again,
Ice RinkIce RinkIce Rink

We stopped here to skate for a little while. It's a circular ice rink around a fountatin in the city.
so we did it again, different location.

We made our way back to the Christmas Market, and it was getting dark. We stopped in a few shops just to look around, met some americans, and hung out for a while by this merry go round thing. Eventually, I was hungry again, so we found a Burger King and sat down for a while. Around this time, was when we met the guy with Erisch the Pony. I have to say, I didn’t know that ponies could get that small. I mean, I knew that they were smaller than horses, but jesus, that thing was tiny. Like a stuffed animal. Sandra fell in love immediately of course.

At the end of the night we made our way back to the hotel, and hung out for a little while. However, it didn’t take long for us to fall asleep. We were both whiped. Walking around a city all day can be tiring. Also, you have to remember, I didn’t go to bed the night before, so I hadn’t slept in like 40 hours. That didn’t help. The next day, we ate another breakfast buffet, which again, was amazing. I loved
MeMeMe

Stuffing My Face
that buffet. Shortly after, we made our way back to Hahnlein. We saw most of the city on Saturday, and neither of were really in the mood to go back to the city again. But it was a great weekend, and I enjoyed it very much. Frankfurt is a great German city, and I hope I can return some day.




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

BreakfastBreakfast
Breakfast

My American Breakfast, and Sandras German Breakfast. Much Difference...
MeMe
Me

On top of Main Tower
SandraSandra
Sandra

At the ice rink
SandraSandra
Sandra

Eating soup at the Christmas Market
SandraSandra
Sandra

In Frankfurt
SandraSandra
Sandra

On top of Main Tower
SandraSandra
Sandra

Being Silly With Statue
SandraSandra
Sandra

On Bridge


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb