Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
December 20th 2008
Published: December 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Coffee Shop #1 43 secs
2: Coffee Shop #2 43 secs
3: Coffee Shop #3 23 secs
MeMeMe

In Amsterdam

Amsterdam




Getting There



On Thursday morning, we woke up early and made it to the train station to embark on a trip to Amsterdam and Paris. It only took about four hours to get to Amsterdam by train, which is quite convenient. As I have said before in past journal entries, this is one of Europes major selling points. Everything is conveniently close. Anyway, originally we had planned to spend the night in Amsterdam. However, I thought it would be better to use the money we would have spent on a hotel, and use it to travel to another city instead. So, plans changed, and we chose Paris because it is relatively close to Amsterdam.

When we got to Amsterdam we started walking around, in search of a coffee shop. By the way, Coffee Shops are commen smoking lounges. You can purchase a little bit of canabis (not an extreme amount) and you can sit and smoke in the shop. Anyone who knows me very well knows that Amsterdam has been a city that I have dreamt of visiting for many years. In 2004 my best friend and I traveled to Vancouver where there is also a leniency in the smoking laws. While we were there, I remember thinking “It cant get any better than this”. Well, it did. And Amsterdam was where it happened.

At first, I was unsure how easy it would be to find a coffee shop. However, once we walked around for about an hour, we quickly noticed that they were everywhere. On certain streets it seemed like every few feet there was another coffee shop. Anyway, once I made eye contact with one, we immediately walked in.

The Coffee Shop Experience



Upon entry, I couldn’t help but notice the deliteful, deliciousness of beautiful smells floating through the air. There were people sitting back, relaxing, enjoying their smoke. The atmosphere was calm, with dimmed lights, and sounds of Bob Marley playing in the background. The man behind the counter handed me a menu to look at. I can only remember the smile that hit my face when noticing the scattered words of “Afghani, Haze, and Skunk”. At this point in time I have never been so indecisive. How does one make a decision here? I couldn’t help but want it all, which was out of the question of course. So,
MeMeMe

Amsterdam had countless bikes - They were everywhere
I took my time and read thoroughly, knowing that I was in the market for some Indica. I eventually made my decision once the words “Orange Haze” caught my eye. 1.8 grams for 15 Euros seemed reasonable enough. There were books of papers available, so I grabbed a couple and we sat down. Having smoked many times in my life, the feeling of smoking in a situation like this is impossible in comparison. Other people had come and gone while I sat there and took my time to roll my beauty as perfect as possible. The feeling of smoking in public made the experience that much better. We spent about a total of 45 minutes in this particular coffee shop, and then made our way out the door to search the city a little more.

The rest of our time in Amsterdam was splended. I am not a big fan of the red light district, but we eventually made our way to that section of the city. It’s funny because, you read about Amsterdam, or see it on TV, and people know what it is all about. But, it’s much different to experience it first hand. Girls really do
StoreStoreStore

With hemp pops and marijuana biscuits, etc.
stand in windows waiving flirtaciously at tourists, and other people passing by. I actually didn’t see it coming. Obviously, I was a little “lit up” so I wasn’t paying much attention, and wasn’t really looking for it. Then, all of a sudden Sandra said “Mikey look”. When I turned around, there it was. A bunch of girls standing in the windows. One actually looked at me and made a gesture for me to come inside. Honestly, it made me a little uncomfortable. Once again, this might have been because I was in a “special mood”. But nah, this part of town wasn’t really for me. I enjoyed the coffee shops much more.

After some time of walking around, laughing a bit, and getting some food, we eventually made our way back to another coffee shop. This one was even better then the first one. There was a little hippy girl working behind the bar. She was so nice, and spoke very clear english. We ordered some coffee and a hot chocolate, and sat down so I could enjoy another smoke. If you consult the videos I have posted, some of this has been documented. We fealt very comfortable in
Coffee ShopCoffee ShopCoffee Shop

Read carefully - Funny coffee shop sign
this particular coffee shop. Once again, sounds of Bob Marley wofting through the air, and the smell of several different kinds of Mary Jane. Sandra and I joked that this city was perfect for us, because it’s the only place in the world where you can purchase our two favorite things simultaniously. Coffee for Sandra and Cheeby for me. It couldn’t have been any better.

On our way back to the train station we stopped at a few shops to look at some souvenirs. We bought a couple Amsterdam t-shirts at a store near the train station. After, we made it to the train station and hopped a train to Paris....



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

SkateboardsSkateboards
Skateboards

This store had tons of skateboards
FunnyFunny
Funny

There were bikes everywhere in Amsterdam. Looks like someone locked their bike up, and someone took off the tire to steal the rest of the bike. Kind of funny...


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb