Hamburg, meine Perle.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg
April 30th 2008
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Aerial HauptbahnhofAerial HauptbahnhofAerial Hauptbahnhof

I forget where I took this picture from, but I love it.
Hey all,

I know, it has been far too long. Life continues to get busier by the day. Let's see... what has happened.

Finance continues to be extremely stressful because of this term paper- how my partner and I will each right 20 pages on forward freight agreements, I don't know. We have until June 10th (why the deadline isn't the end of the semester, I don't know) and we don't officially receive our topics until this coming tuesday. And the greatest hitch of all? No internet resources. WHAT?! I don't think I've had to use a library for research as much as this since middle school. Other than that, my other classes are okay. It just feels weird that I'm not more stressed out right now- at home, classes are much more structured and have tests, here there are none.

A few words on my term paper partner, Kerima. She boosts my self esteem.. haha. I know this is the absolute wrong approach to learning a language, but I've spent my time here not speaking as much as I should. I have been very intimidated around native speakers, but apparently I shouldn't be, because they never guess
Aerial Hamburg (city)Aerial Hamburg (city)Aerial Hamburg (city)

I love this even more.
that I'm not German.. they usually think I'm just from Bavaria, which I think is hilarious. Anyway, my phrase has usually been I don't speak german.. but I never said I couldn't. I can't speak it when I get nervous, I just freeze. This has always been a battle, however. Anyway, one day I decided to speak German to Kerima because I started to feel comfortable around her and her friends. They were speaking German and didn't think I understood. She kept translating what they said for me, but I understood exactly what was going on- so, one time I just joined in the conversation. Kerima just kind of stopped and I got a blank stare for a couple seconds.. She keeps telling me how good I speak german, every time I say something. When I write to her per SMS or email in german, she always asks if I wrote that by myself. My answer is always the same: "Natuerlich ganz alleine!" It's a good self esteem boost that a native speaker would say I speak the language well. Not the first time I've heard it, as I've also been complimented by random cab drivers in Austria or employees
Jungfernstieg MarathonJungfernstieg MarathonJungfernstieg Marathon

This past weekend we were on our way to Starbucks when we saw that Jungfernstieg had been completely blocked off for a marathon. It was cool.
in a store. But I still don't feel like I speak well. I don't know, I guess I'll listen to what people tell me.. sometimes.

Moving along... last weekend Joe and I went to Stadtpark and actually went through all of it. It really is beautiful. We went miniature golfing, and I got my butt kicked, majorly. The course was extremely simply laid out, nothing like we are used to in the states, but the courses for the most part were very difficult! Joe beat me by 20 some odd points, and half way through I started to get violent.. Joe found this hilarious. Other than our mini golf experience, our weekend was basically the usual: eating out, movies at night, and riding the U Bahn to random places during the day. Most weekends now he stays down here in our apartment, since he spends all weekend here anyway. I don't blame him, he lives 40 minutes away.

This past weekend we went to Farmsen, way out again in the booneys. It was really pretty there, and they use mostly buses rather than trains. I much prefer the city, but I'm biased now anyways. Sunday morning we
ColonnadenColonnadenColonnaden

Building on colonnaden. Joe loves taking pics of architecture, and this was his doing.
went to our favorite breakfast spot on the Alster pavilion, and as usual it was amazing. Only place where a decent breakfast can be found (which pretty much means they serve more than croissants). The rest of the day for me was just spent napping, since Bryan and Joe have a weekly tradition of going to Harburg to play a game with friends on Sunday evenings.

Well I think that is all I can think of at the moment, and I will try my hardest to write more. At least if I do, I won't forget things that have happened, which I'm sure I have, since it has been two weeks. Well, Bis spaeter!

Love, J.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

ColonnadenColonnaden
Colonnaden

Again, Joe stole the camera.
FarmsenFarmsen
Farmsen

We found a German flag! You have NO idea how hard it is to find one... I've been told because of a certain history that people don't fly the national flag.. it's sad.
Random truck in farmsenRandom truck in farmsen
Random truck in farmsen

We found it funny...
Rathaus viewRathaus view
Rathaus view

This may be my favorite view of the Rathaus, even though only the steeple is seen. This is taken from Colonnaden.
ColonnadenColonnaden
Colonnaden

Clouds : ) Can't help it, I love them.
JoeJoe
Joe

I wasn't there for this, but Joe accidentally took my camera home with him and Joe and Bryan had some fun with it. He looks so deep in thought!
BryanBryan
Bryan

I know, I was hesitant to put this up, but I may have one picture of him when he is being nice. What can I say.. he is just so charming.
My drug of choiceMy drug of choice
My drug of choice

Black Bean Coffee shop= life
Marilyn Monroe roomMarilyn Monroe room
Marilyn Monroe room

This is my german classroom. I nicknamed it the Marilyn Monroe room because there are 4 pictures of her in it, and the moldings are pink. And there's a random German map there, too.
Das RathausDas Rathaus
Das Rathaus

Another one of my favorite views of the Rathaus, this time from Ballindamm.
HSV!!HSV!!
HSV!!

Gotta represent our team...
PaddleboatsPaddleboats
Paddleboats

at Stadtpark on the lake
Stereotypical German FenceStereotypical German Fence
Stereotypical German Fence

We just had to take a picture because we thought it was such a confirmation of stereotypical thought that when Germans want to keep people out, they do so with force. These were really sharp..
Gorgeous treeGorgeous tree
Gorgeous tree

Stadtpark
mini golfmini golf
mini golf

This was the last hole, and by this point i was insane with rage.


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb