"My life is an awkward moment- # 379"


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
April 15th 2008
Published: April 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so funny story. Not so funny at the time, but yeah. So Hamburg weather is always very spontaneous and changes quickly. This pattern decided to change, and it poured last night for like an hour straight while I was in class at Colon. Now, my umbrella broke like a week after I got here, and because the weather changes so fast, I never bothered to get a new one. It never pours here, it lightly rains. So I run out of class and into the mall down the street, into the store that has umbrellas. I spot umbrellas at the front counter- they're bright orange, but I was in no position to be picky! He rang it up, asked me if I wanted the tag off and of course I said yes. I look to my right- and there are more umbrellas, in normal colors. After I had him take the tag off. So whatever, I walk out and here I am walking down the street with a bright orange umbrella- actually, it is more like Feuerwehr orange, for those who know what that is. Embarassing, and not so discreet. Oh well. That was my awkward moment for the day.

This week has been a little better. This weekend was the first one that I was on my own all weekend, Joe was in Ireland visiting family. On Saturday I got up and went to the Harbor on the Elbe. It was an absolutely gorgeous day all around, perfect for being by the water. I went to Miniature Wonderland, which is a huge train layout which depicts different areas of the world. They even had a mini Hamburg, naturally, and it was really cool to see where I lived! I know what you're thinking: trains? not my thing. I went to take pictures for my dad, who is really into trains and has had layouts for what seems like forever. Getting there was interesting; I knew the station I had to get off at, but no idea where to go after that. Luckily, as I walked around aimlessly, I saw an older couple walking towards me, and asked them if they knew where this place was. They were tourists, but had a map, and were able to direct me right to the place I needed to be. I started walking to the crosswalk, and apparently they were going in the same direction as me, and the older Gent started talking to me again, and he asked me whether I spoke english or german (which I thought was weird, since we just had a conversation in german) but I proudly said "beides" and he continued to talk to me in German. I was proud.

After this I went to the American video rental place and got some movies, and had a chilled out saturday night. Sunday morning I went to check out Stadtpark. It wasn't at all like I thought it would be, and it strangely continues on two different sides of the street. I didn't have the energy to go all the way through, but they have a cafe, miniature golfing place, planetarium, alot of cool stuff! I might have to drag Joe back there this weekend.

Well, I have 3.5 hours of Finance today... boo!!!! But I did find a partner for the term paper, which is great. I posted on the google group website our class has, and I actually got a response! So I am meeting with my partner today to organize and such.

Well I think thats all for now, more to come, as always!

Love, J




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Look, its my umbrella!!!...Look, its my umbrella!!!...
Look, its my umbrella!!!...

no, just the Feuerwehr.
Bauprojeckt HauptbahnhofBauprojeckt Hauptbahnhof
Bauprojeckt Hauptbahnhof

They were in the process of building it
Hey, I know that placeHey, I know that place
Hey, I know that place

I live near there!
Ueberseebruecke der ElbeUeberseebruecke der Elbe
Ueberseebruecke der Elbe

The bridge you have to cross to get to Speicherstadt


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb