Hummel, Hummel, Moin, Moin!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
May 6th 2008
Published: May 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

AlsterAlsterAlster

View from the deck on the Alster Pavilion where we had breakfast
Hey all,

I'm very excited that it is now May, and I will be even more excited when it is July.. July 12th, to be exact. The weather here is getting more and more beautiful by the day, and it really feels like a whole new city, because I can now do things I couldn't when it was cold and rainy. I am trying to appreciate even the smallest of things, because as much as I rather be home right now, I know I will miss this place terribly when I do leave.

This past weekend Joe and I were determined to be outside as much as possible and not to waste this gorgeous weather we are having. On Saturday, we went to Stadtpark and went paddle boating, which was of course a lot of fun. Even more fun, because I got to drive.. yay! I missed driving, even if this was only a boat. Anyway, it was a lot of work, because my feet still barely reach the peddles. Oh, to be taller. It was good exercise though! Next weekend we are going to go back and take out a canoe. Later on we went to the harbor
Fountain!Fountain!Fountain!

Fountain in the middle of the Alster
to just walk around and enjoy. We went aboard the San Diego, this huge museum ship, which gave us a great view of the rest of the harbor.

Sunday started out late, but relaxing. We went to Alster Pavilion for brunch, which was amazing as usual, and then we went back to the Harbor, and this time, took a boat tour of the Harbor, which is amazing. People tell you all the time that Hamburg is the 2nd largest port city in the world, but to see all the action was really cool. We went back aboard the San Diego afterwards, and took many pictures, as we had forgotten my camera on Saturday. By the end of the weekend we both had what vaguely resembled some color to our skin- yay!

Oh Monday.... sinus attack... yay! I was in bed most of the day, but had to suck it up and go to German at night, because we were having our Abschlusspruefung to continue on to C1 level. Listening, Reading, and a dictation were the sections we completed on monday night, and was very interesting to do with a migraine. The fun continues tomorrow night as we continue on with the grammar section of the test, which is sure to be a crowd pleaser. I started this section, and it is wicked hard. I'm really rusty when it comes to my grammar.. which is really ironic because I'm here.... I don't know. All I do know is that I am not exactly anxious to go back and finish the exam.

Other than that, life goes on as usual. Too much to do, too little time. Oh well... 2 more months! Enjoy the pictures!

Love, J

PS- I found Staples today.. yes, the store! And it was good. The end.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

HafenrundfahrtHafenrundfahrt
Hafenrundfahrt

Just showin what a beautiful day it was for a harbor tour!
FeuerschiffFeuerschiff
Feuerschiff

Fire Ship, now converted into a restaurant
huge shiphuge ship
huge ship

It came out of nowhere and I seriously thought we were going to collide.. scary stuff
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

Its just amazing with the clouds above...
St MichelSt Michel
St Michel

A view of St Mikes this time from the water view inland!
Der Koenig der LoewenDer Koenig der Loewen
Der Koenig der Loewen

This is the Lion King musical ship- the venue is in the middle of the harbor, and they have ships that take you back and forth to it
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Yeah, the buildings are nice, but I'm just obsessed with boats and water. I like splashes.
St NikolaiSt Nikolai
St Nikolai

View inland of St Nicks
"Parking Forbidden""Parking Forbidden"
"Parking Forbidden"

Apparently someone has tried to park their car on the ship.... yeah.
St Katherines... I think?St Katherines... I think?
St Katherines... I think?

I just like the steeple and the clouds
Der Koenig der LoewenDer Koenig der Loewen
Der Koenig der Loewen

The Lion King venue in the harbor
GraffitiGraffiti
Graffiti

Quite appropriate, haha
...and is going to hit us......and is going to hit us...
...and is going to hit us...

Just kidding, but I thought they were cool shots.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb