Hafen Geburtstag/ Schloss Ahrensburg


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
May 19th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey all,

A lot has happened over the past 2 weeks. School has gotten A LOT busier as I have been having projects, term papers, and tests due (got a 100 on my Trade vorpruefung, yay!) . I can't wait, only a little over a month of school left! I am very jealous of the people back home who are done school already though.. just makes me want to be done with it even more.

Anyway, 2 weekends ago was the harbor's 819th birthday. They had a big to-do going on down there from friday-monday and it was a lot of fun. They had a lot of museum ships docked as well as working ships that you could walk around and stuff, along with carnival type rides and games. Joe and I pretty much spent the whole weekend there, and since Monday was a holiday, we were there for 3 out of the 4 festival days. We had amazing weather, and have (well, had) the beginnings of nice tans to prove it.

That week went by like a blur, and then this weekend was a little bit of a let down, weather wise. I hear it has been the same at home, but it went from high 70's back down to low 60's. Saturday it rained all day and was damp and cold, so we stayed in most of the day and watched movies. Sunday we went to Ahrensburg Schloss (which is still in the state of hamburg) which by Jersey standards we would call the sticks, but its beautiful. All foresty and such. The palace itself was small, but nice. It had a moat and everything which I thought was cool, and we had to wear cool slippers in the house, I guess so the floors stayed in tact. The employees were all in 1700's dress, corsets and all which was really cool.. I love the style of the womens dresses in that time period!! One of the ladies working there spoke english and was talking to us about some of the rooms. It was a nice ride out and back, as we had to take the u bahn and a bus to get out to it. All in all, it took between 45 mins and an hour.. not bad.

Joe and i are planning our trip(s) to Berlin. We've decided, because of lack of money, we are just going to take day trips- the bus is only about 10 euros each way. It only takes about 3 hours each way, so if we go early in the morning we'll have all day. According to Bryan who was there this weekend, it only took about a day to see all of the important sights. I do have a confession- one of the biggest reasons I want to go is for the Dunkin Donuts. According to Bryan, they're everywhere. I would KILL for an iced coffee right about now- nothing here is the same. Perhaps better, but there is never an offering on just plain iced coffee, everything is so much fancier.

Well, I think thats all I have right now... Joe's family is coming tomorrow so I will probably be doing stuff with them, and of course I have a lot of school work going on. I have an oral presentation on monday that I am not thrilled about.. and then a term paper due soon.. so I have my work cut out for me. More updates to come!

Love, J


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

The best ride EVER!!The best ride EVER!!
The best ride EVER!!

Pirate ship : )
another fine rideanother fine ride
another fine ride

.. but proved to be rather painful. Still fun
Joe is a good shotJoe is a good shot
Joe is a good shot

He won a bottle of champagne haha
The Harburg RathausThe Harburg Rathaus
The Harburg Rathaus

Harburg, Hamburg
balloon palm treeballoon palm tree
balloon palm tree

in front of Ahrensburg Palace
The slippers we had to wearThe slippers we had to wear
The slippers we had to wear

Joe is on the right, with the big feet. We joke that his toes are red because his feet were so big they had to chop off his toes for the slippers to fit.
GangstaGangsta
Gangsta

We got bored waiting for the bus. Here I am, Joe's hat and sunglasses
still boredstill bored
still bored

Joe in my glasses. So handsome he is haha
funny faces!funny faces!
funny faces!

This is what we do when we're bored. Yes, I stole Joe's sunglasses haha


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb