Last day in Hamburg


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
June 25th 2014
Published: June 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So today I woke up early with Kolja and I observed two English classes in Germany. The students English was very good and we had a debate in class where I played the "devils advocate", the kids where very interested in American life, aparently, they learn mostly about England, but the kids asked me questions like:

"Do all Americans like fast food?"

"Do I own any guns?"

"Are there Indians where you live?" To this I responded, "Only a baseball team." Surprisingly they knew about the Cleveland Indians and asked if I liked Lebron James too.

It was weird to speak in English again, I felt like that part of my brain turned off. After I saw Kolja coming back from his field trip and I wandered the city a little bit and walked through the shopping district. There are so many beautiful buildings here and the Rathaus is awesome along with the port here and all the water. We ended up going to this miniture train/building museum (Brents boys would have had a blast!). It was I believe 3 stories of minuture trains, planes and automobiles. The planes actually took off too and they had modals from all around the world and were building Rome when I got there.

I also learned that locks on bridges is very typical here to do and even Kolja and Fanny have one somewhere here. We ended up going out after words with Fanny to watch some of the games, a very strange world cup. There was this section of Hamburg were where in which was very interesting, it reminded me a lot of Lakewood, a younger crowd and such, what was odd though is that there were Polizei (4-5 Polizisten) on almost any corner or bank of this area. Aparently Gyros here do not come in bread and I think that is the difference between a Gyro and Döner, both are delicious though!

Tomorrow I am off to Berlin! Sad to leave this beautiful port city, Fanny and Kolja are awesome hosts and Kolja made me promise to come back next year to Hamburg haha. We have been running around all day, by the time I get ready to post these I am pooped, it has been so fun here.

Pictures for these last two to come when I am in Berlin.

Bis Berlin!


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

his schoolhis school
his school

last day of observations in english classes, very interesting
night modalnight modal
night modal

so about every 5 or 10 minutes everything went back and forth between night and day
inside the music houseinside the music house
inside the music house

opens and closes!


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb