After a long day, I finally arrived


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin
June 18th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 52.5235, 13.4115

Had a shower in the dodgy hostel room. The shower is in the corner and the sides are painted cream, so its not see through. As I have stayed here before I know the trick. Get in, through over your old clothes, have the new ones ready and hanging over the side. Just don't lean against the door, or it will open to everyone else in the room and scare them!

Checked out and walked down the street to drop off some clothes to be washed. Then caught the tube and tried to find a bank, wanted to pay my credit card. No luck, looks like I will be charged a late fee, as I won't be back to the UK for about a month. Went to collect my CLEAN clothes!!! Clean clothes are very exciting for a traveller. Then collected my bag from the hostel and went to Victoria station where I left my bag at left luggage and caught the train to Val's. Had a few things to drop off that I wouldn't be needing on my trip. Back to Victoria, collected my bag, caught the tube, changed to a train and arrived at Stansted Airport.

The flight was delayed, of course. I have know learn that cheap flights mean delays. I usually have time for delays, but I was scheduled to arrive at 9.35 and didn't want to arrived too much later as I needed to navigate the transport system to find the hostel and didn't want to be wandering around at night looking lost!!

Finally arrived in Berlin and managed to catch the right train and go in the right direction- what luck! The area near the stop that I got off seemed seedy, but I made it to the hostel. Then I had to walk up four huge flights of stairs, should of accepted the offer from a guy to carry my bag!

Was desperate for a shower after rushing around London all day. What a shock to see the showers. There is no such thing as privacy here. The showers are see through, not even slightly frosted!!! Its like being in a window in the red light district!! Aaahhhh! Luckily there was no-one else having a shower at the time. I was very quick. My towel, draped over the shower door was long enough to cover me from the belly button and up. My butt on show to all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb