Heading East to Oberstdorf.....


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Oberstdorf
March 9th 2024
Published: March 12th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Heading East to Oberstdorf.....



March 9 & 10, 2024



Last night we went to bed not knowing where tomorrow would lead us.

As we sat and ate our breakfast, we discussed where do we go, France, Switzerland, Austria or Italy.

We checked the Weather and MyRadar apps to see if we could predict where the rain was heading.

We decided to head east toward Oberstdorf. this is in the bottom of Germany between Zurich and Innsbruck. This means, we must cut through Switzerland and Austria, along the southern end of the Bodensee.

While we finished eating breakfast, Kirsten found us a Gast Haus in Obermaiselstein. Can you say that three times...?

Ok, the car is loaded and us Gypsies are on the road.

As I’m scouring over Google maps, I find this place called Rhein Falls. As in the Rhein River going over the falls.

So, our first stop is the Rhein Falls; located in Schaffhausen.

We spend an hour plus walking around and checking it out. Beautifully amazing falls.

From there we continue heading east. I’m navigating all the little roads because our car doesn’t have a decal that allows us to use the autobahn outside of German. It’s like the ePass in Florida.

We follow the roads bordering the Bodensee looking for a scenic location to have lunch. Kirsten decides on Romanshorn. A lakeside village that has this beautiful park on the shores of the Bodensee. We park and walk and find a nice bench and have wonderful picnic lunch.

Now we need to get to our Gast Haus; they just texted us saying we could check in around 3 pm.

Off we go, we continued driving on the small roads until we came up to the boarder of Switzerland and Austria.

I knew it, were going to get busted. The traffic was backed up and officers were waving cars through or pulling them over to checking something. As we approached, I said they are not taking me alive, Kirsten just smiled at me and then turned to the border patrol guy and winked and he waved us through.

My ass was puckered until we were out of eyesight of the border control, and I didn’t hear or see the polizi coming after us.

Ok, back to getting us to our Gast Haus, I’m all over google maps and having us heading due east. To get to the Gast Haus, we must go over a mountain pass and we’re hoping to see lots of snow and we sure did.

Our Haus is just on the other side of the mountain in Germany. We arrived and checked in, Kirsten and the inn keeper are talking like long lost friends. Me ...I’m looking over my shoulder making sure the border patrol isn’t coming.

After checking in and ordering our breakfast bread for tomorrow, I’m ready for a nap and Kirsten is off to the Aldi to get us breakfast food, beer and snacks.

Kirsten is back and I’m sitting at the table on the terrace working on the blog. She says let’s go and get some dinner. So off we go to downtown of Oberstdorf. It’s dark and cold, we are winding through the streets and finally come upon a restaurant/brewery. Kirsten asks if this ok. Yea!

We park across from the restaurant walk up to the hostess and asks for a table for two, she motions to follow her. What! she didn’t ask if we had reservations. This place is packed with people dancing, sitting and standing all over the place. We get to our table we get our drinks, and the food came soon after and we loved every bite.

OK, were back in our room it’s darker and colder and its starting to rain and it is 30 degrees which means it’s snowing.

Gute Nacht



The long and lonely road.........

Guten morgan honey, time to rise and shine, as she pulls back the curtains and the blinding sun is coming in. It rained last night, so snow frost and ice everywhere.

Kirsten has breakfast already set out and I’m still rubbing my eyes, as she’s telling me what todays adventures are

Today were going to take a gonadal up the side of the one of the many mountains surrounding Oberstdorf and take a nice leisurely walk to a restaurant and have lunch.

Great, sounds nice, right.

We get into the car, which is freezing cold, covered in ice and off we go toward the mountain pass we came over yesterday. Kirsten has a death grip on the steering wheel making sure we don’t slide off the mountain.

We arrive, park, get our tickets and we’re on the gondola riding up the side of the mountain. Up, up, up we go we see skiers, hikers, people walking. It’s going to be nice.

Once we get to the top everything is covered in snow, I mean deep snow. The sign point toward the path leading up to the restaurant. Now, at this point I can’t see the restaurant and I’m starting to be slightly concerned. I suck it up and start up the path, which by the way is covered in snow.

Well, after 45 minutes of hiking, no trudging through snow, we finally see the restaurant in the distance.

Finally, finally we made it. I drank my first beer in one gulp, wiped my mouth and said, “Ein bier bitte,” the bar tender filled it and handed it back to me without blinking an eye.

Kirsten sat me down and brought over another beer and food. We sat there for over an hour, I kept begging surely there must be a bus, wagon, sled that can take us back.

Nope, you must walk out.

All I could think about was the Von Trapp family crossing the alps.

Let me tell you I wasn’t singing the hills are alive, I was pissing and moaning with every step I took.

Walking down hill in snow is even harder than walking up hill. We made it, we both were so tired it took everything we had to get into the car.

Once in the car Kirsten decided to drive into Oberstdorf and have coffee and cake. Me, I’ll have a beer and a bowl of goulash soup.

Kirsten received her coffee and cake; I received my beer and then came the goulash meal. Oh My! Our waitress thought we wanted a meal instead of a bowl of soup. I ate just a bit, and she packed it up for us to take home.

Once back at our Haus we had wine, cheese, meats, olives and bread.

Before we knew it, we were both in bed and falling asleep.

Gute Nacht

Steve & Kirsten


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb