Guten Tag Germany!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
March 15th 2017
Published: March 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Oh Munich. I feel you got a bit shafted (cheated - for my non-slang crew, i,e: Mom in case you are actually reading this). I feel I had too much going on before I got to Germany and then Germany was a bit go, go go at first. By the time I got to Munich I was mentally done with the tourist part of traveling. Additionally, history can be pretty depressing. How do people major in this???

Let's hit the highlights shall we. Germany trip went like this: Leichlingen, Dusseldorf, Koln, Berlin & Munich. Which really doesn't sound like much, unless you take the travel in between cities into account. And the fact that I did a lot in Italy before getting to Germany. So where we last left off I was in Berlin and loving it. Well Munich was a bit of a let down. Let me start by saying it seems like a lovely city, but everything seems to be centered around beer. Now I love beer, but I think when you haven't really been drinking much for months, the daily beer drinking can really be - well draining. Add in that a lot of the bigger things to see in Munich are outside Munich. So if you go it's a crazy train ride. Ugh, I'm just tired writing about it again.

And the fact that I thought everything would look so amazing in terms of architecture and I feel it wasn't as spectacular as...well Prague. Very similar styles. I also thing I'm tired of reading things. You know, you go to a museum and have to read. You go to a monument and have to read. I just want people to talk and tell me, preferably while I'm lying down in my bed. Can you tell, I'm a bit traveled out? Don't get me wrong there are places I want to go back to and places I still want to see. I wish I could have a time out somewhere where I didn't need to spend any money and then go traveling again. I hear that's how "Gap year" works. But I did not do it this way. I did it the TP way. Which was great by the way but I did burn myself out a bit 😊

But I will say I did meet some really nice people in Munich and had some AMAZING meals. The weather for the most part was with me. Was only really cold in the evenings and the sun was out most of the days. And I did get to send some time with my bestie who came to visit in Germany. That was nice.

So my Germany summary is that I would definitely go back to Berlin but Munich...eh not on top of the list as I thought it would be. Now I must go to my boarding gate as I'm off to Zurich...

Germany full pictures:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10154397837061824.1073741859.516421823&type=1&l=5cc7c4f10e


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



15th March 2017

Burned out! ? ? ?
Wow..these extra weeks must have done you in. And I can relate to the reading at the museums. If we go, I'll ask you to read for me :)

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb