Frau. Heidis Abschiedstour (Heidi's farewell tour)


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
March 19th 2017
Published: March 19th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Zurich! Last big stop of my Europe trip. I've traveled to Zurich a number of times in the last 9 years for work and many times traveling around together the area or around during Zurich. This trip brought me mixed emotions.

My aunt and uncle live in Zurich, which gave me a good reason to add a stop in Zurich. I hadn't intended on going to any places I'd been before but the free lodging, free laundry, option to see family and option to see some old colleagues one last time felt like a good reason to go. Oh yeah and also the option to leave luggage while I traveled around in Europe on trains 😊 So yes convenience was a HUGE reason!!!

I was so happy to see my family in Zurich as well as my cousin who came from UK to visit as well. I was also happy to see my colleagues who came out for lunch and dinner.

It was weird to walk around areas that I'd first gone to on my first business trip. After dinner with my colleagues, we walked by the old town along the Lake to get to our trams/trains home and I had a weird reflective feeling. As that was the area we would go out for dinner and the take out rides back to hotels. And very likely I wouldn't be coming back to Zurich or atleast anytime soon.

Even with my family we went to areas that I'd gone before, like lovely Orelikon, and went to my favorite stores (i.e Coop!!!!).

It seems to make sense this would be my last bit stop in Europe. This trip was possible as I'm not longer working at CS and I spent a better part of a decade at this job and traveling to Zurich. To be here and not working was different but gave me the opportunity to take in my surroundings and reflect on memories (good and bad).

I'll be sharing some pictures and other thoughts on my time with my family but I wanted to share some insights now.

More to come. (Little rambling I know)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb