To Munich or bust....


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
March 8th 2017
Published: March 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Berlin has been great!! One of things I've noticed during this trip I've done, that much of the world's history isn't from all that long ago. Vietnam War ended about 40 years ago as did the Cambodia Civil War. The divide of Germany started a little under 60 years ago which lead to the building of the Berlin Wall, and the tearing down of the wall which only started coming down under 30 years ago! And yes all these wars were related, but I think I did put together how much some of the countries I was traveling to are linked. Don't get me wrong, there is so much deeper history in some of these places (obviously with Angkor Wat temples in Cambodia, and the impact of World War II in Germany and Hungary, just to name a few of things that I have or will be learning). But it just doesn't seem as far away as I was expecting it to.

It also all seems to connect with what is going on in the world, specifically USA, right now. It's not the exact same but there are a lot of similarities that do raise some concerns (more than before). It's bee a bit hard in the travels not to discuss the impact of a new President, the policy changes and the more visible division of the country. Europeans a bit more than Asians seem to have more concerns about what's going on. And in having some conversations I can see why, but I think reviewing history is what is making it hit a bit more.

I strayed a bit up there, as I hadn't really wanted to get a bit too involved in the politics right now. So making a poor segue, I'll move on to some of the great things about Berlin (besides the wonderful historical museums). I went two shows here and they were both fabulous! One at the Chameleon Theater, which was a jazz, acrobatic, comedic (??) show there. It was amazing. It was called Scotch and Soda and I believe the touring group is Australian but they have been doing the show for a bit in Berlin. Really worth it to see if you are going to be in Berlin!!

The other one was at the Friedrichstadt-Palast and was The One Grand Show. I will tell you that I don't really know what the premise was. It was a dream show or something but it was mix of Cirque de soleil and a musical. That is the best I can say. It had the BEST, the BEST costumes ever and the best acrobatic stuff ever. The dancing and music was okay. The theater itself was beautiful from the inside.

Right before the show started, we got an email that said our flight to Munich had been canceled. Yup a ground transportation strike. Option was to take 6 hour train OR take a flight next day. So we stayed an extra day. By the way, this is 2nd time this has happened to me. When I was in Prague going to Venice there was a transportation strike but it only was impacting a few airlines (this one in Berlin apparently was all flights going out of Berlin). Apparently this is what happens (or so I'm told) but I'm really hoping my next few flights aren't impacted. I mean how do I find out ahead of schedule??? Or do I really have to wait for a flight the day of!! Thankfully I did travel insurance for my entire trip, but seriously submitting claims is a pain as well!

Anyway, tomorrow off to Munich (I hope!) and looking forward to sharing some more adventures with you. Until then, if you aren't on facebook you can see the two links below for my Cambodia pictures 😊

Cambodia photos part 1:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10154384335186824.1073741853.516421823&type=1&l=166ba0f7ec

Cambodia photos Part 2:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10154384360321824.1073741854.516421823&type=1&l=eda7f7734d

Advertisement



11th March 2017

STRIKE STRIKE STRIKE
...for the one day you needed to fly! Is that good luck or bad luck?
13th March 2017

Well we did say we liked Berlin and wished we could st add your longer...but it's my 2nd flight other have a strike so I don't think that's good?

Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb