Farewell to Isabel and the Englische Garten


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
October 6th 2010
Published: October 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Park near MarienplatzPark near MarienplatzPark near Marienplatz

left to right - Laura, Nicolas, Deborah, Elodie, Lisanne
September 31, 2010

Tonight was the last night for Isabel and Jordi at EF, so we all went out to dinner. Jordi is going back to Barcelona for the weekend, but he’ll come back to Munich and start class at the University here on Monday. Isabel is going back to Portugal, but hopefully we can stay in touch through facebook. These first two weeks have gone by really quickly. I still don’t feel settled in yet and since I’m moving out of my host family on the 10th, it will take even longer to finally feel normal. For dinner we all met at our usual place, which is the Münchner Freiheit U-Bahn station. It’s really close to the school and kind of in the center of where everyone lives. Jordi and I had met up before hand and he helped me pick out a coat since it’s getting colder. For dinner we ate at an Indian restaurant that was really good. The Chili Curry Chicken was definitely much hotter than I thought.

After dinner we went to “SKY”, Jordi’s favorite Sports Bar. We had drinks and played cards for a while and it was a lot of fun. Jordi has some really fun card games that we play for hours on end. Then we played 2 games of Billiards and Darts too.

Classes were extra interesting today. We kind of had a culture/history lesson mixed in with learning German. We watched a documentary on Leni Riefenstahl. I had thought the name sounded really familiar and I was right. She’s mentioned in Inglourious Basterds, when they have the rendez-vous in the basement pub. Our teacher also talked a bit about Joseph Goebbels today. He was the propaganda administrator for the Third Reich. Leni Riefenstahl was a lot of things - a dancer, an actress, a mountain climber, and a director. I believe she filmed a lot of the propaganda movies that the Third Reich used during World War II. I think this weekend I won’t go on the excursion with the school because I’m really tired from the whole week. I’ll just stay at home, relax, and maybe do some sight seeing on my own. I hope everyone back home is doing well!


October 3, 2010

I had a pretty nice weekend. I was able to finally relax a little and read a bit on Saturday. On Friday I met up with everyone at Oktoberfest again and we rode some more rides and walked around. Afterwards we walked around Marienplatz looking for a café that was still open.

Today (Sunday), I met everyone at Marienplatz and we decided to go to the Englischer Garten. It’s the biggest public park in Germany and I hadn’t been there yet. It was really beautiful. It was really warm and sunny today so everyone was out in the garden after the cold last week. It was enormous. There was a lake and there was field after field full of people sunbathing, playing, or talking. We walked along a path through the park for a while and enjoyed the weather. The lake had a lot of canoerers and small boats. It was awesome. I think I’ll definitely be spending some time lounging there doing homework or reading. Too bad winter is coming soon and it won’t be as nice. Fall should be great though, when the leaves change colors. We split up for a while to eat and I found a Starbucks so I could use the wifi. Travelblog seems to always be down or have technical issues so I spent all the time online backing up every single one of my entries to a word document. Not so much fun. I clicked my first entry of my Germany entries, my pictures came up, but it was someone else’s text about a trip to Russia. I tried reloading the page and then it wouldn’t load the entry at all. That was when I decided to back everything up.
From Starbucks I met everyone at the U-Bahn station again and we went to a hookah café on Leopold Strasse and hung out there for a while. Then Jordi gave me a call since he was back from Barcelona, so he and his friend Carles joined us. When the café closed we went to a bar nearby and played foosball in the back. It was a fun day. I’m glad I don’t have class tomorrow until noon so I can sleep in a little in the morning. I finally move into the residence on either the 10th or 11th and there I will for sure have wifi ☺. Unfortunately, it’s .09 cents per minute but it’ll still be cheaper than buying a USB stick and using that. I’m going to ask the
Nicolas and INicolas and INicolas and I

In a park near Marienplatz
accommodation coordinator at the school tomorrow if the residence has cooking or laundry facilities. I’m finally getting time back in the gym so I’ve been feeling a lot better. I still miss everyone at home though ☹

My German is definitely already progressing from classes and I’m feeling more confident speaking to people. Listening is still pretty hard when it’s not my teachers since a lot of shop owners mumble a lot. My French is also coming back to me since I can practice a lot with my friends from Belgium and France. I haven’t studied French in over a year so it makes me happy that it’s coming back to me.



October 4, 2010

It was another Monday of classes today. I felt pretty rested from the weekend so it wasn’t too bad. We have a new teacher again though and I think we’ll have her for the rest of the time, which kind of sucks since I really liked the first teacher we had. Today was the last day of Oktoberfest. We originally planned to go, but everyone agreed we had already burned too much money there. We met up with some of
Photo 7Photo 7Photo 7

we got a picture with some people wearing the tradition Bavarian costume.
Jordi’s friends from Barcelona instead. Right now Jordi and I are planning to meet in Barcelona around January 4th. He’s going to show me all around Barcelona so I’m really excited, I hope it works out. I signed up for the excursion with the school on Saturday, which is to the Alps! I’m really excited about that too. I can’t wait to go and take pictures.

The group of friends I usually hang out with are planning a few different side excursions ourselves. One is on October 16th, there’s a “museum party” where you pay a really low fee up front and you can go to all the museums in Munich. It’s called something like “The Long Night of Museums”. It’s from 7:30pm to 2am and a bus is included that will take you to whichever museum you want. We’re also still going to decide on a date to go to the Dachau concentration camp and the BMW factory in Munich.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Jordi and IJordi and I
Jordi and I

at the SKY bar
Oktoberfest rideOktoberfest ride
Oktoberfest ride

Melissa and I went on this ride
Beer TentBeer Tent
Beer Tent

Isabel is on the left :) priceless expression. This is when we actually got a table inside a beer tent


7th October 2010

ME !!
Take me!! Gosh I'm so excited that you have chosen to do this with your life. These things you will never forget and always cherish. Take care and loads of fun. Wish I could go!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb