Mia's visit and more Oktoberfest


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
September 30th 2010
Published: October 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mia and IMia and IMia and I

At Oktoberfest
September 27, 2010

Today was Mia’s last full day here in Munich. We had a great time. Yesterday she and I walked around the Altstadt. We went inside the Frauenkirche, which was really beautiful. We also went to the top of the Sankt Peterskirche for a full 360-degree view of Munich. It was great ☺ We had pizza for lunch in a small Bavarian café in Marienplatz and dinner at Tapasitas, a great Spanish restaurant that Jordi and I went to after our first classes. Finally, we also went through the Munich Residence Museum, once the home of the Dukes and Dutchesses of Munich that is now a museum. Today we met up with Jordi, from Barcelona, and had kebabs near Marienplatz with 3 of his friends. Afterwards we went to the Viktualenmarkt to a nice public beer garden to relax for a while. We then parted with his friends to show Mia Oktoberfest. Ja, sind wir schon gegangen! But over the weekend Mia couldn’t really experience it because it rained really badly and there were way to many people on the weekend. We sat at the Paulaner beer tent in the outside area and played some card games, just the three of us. We also rode one of the rides that I had really wanted to go on (we did this before drinking). We also got huge pretzels, which are one of the favorite snacks of Munich.

I’m planning on doing a lot of the excursions and activities through the school soon. Thursday Jordi and I are going to play football (soccer) in an indoor arena with some of the other students. Then I think on Saturday I’ll go on the excursion to one of the nearby lakes in Munich. A lot of us wanted to see if the school will do a weekend trip to Berlin, but they said it’s too far. They said that they can help us plan one on our own though. If we can get at least 5 people we can get really cheap train tickets. When Jordi finishes with EF on Friday he’s going to a University in Munich right down the street so luckily he will still be here to go. He and I are probably going to try to plan a trip to his hometown of Barcelona too.


September 28, 2010

Today Mia had to go back to Dresden. Luckily I had later classes today so we got to hang out a little in the morning. We went to a bakery nearby and added more minutes onto her prepaid phone in case there’s another problem with the trains. On the way to Munich they loaded everyone onto the train and then said, “sorry, we’re not going to Nuernberg anymore, you have to get off at the next stop and find a new train.” So she had to get off in the middle of nowhere with literally nothing in sight ☹ Long story short - it was horrible. Then her phone died when she finally found another train to Nuernberg. I didn’t think she would make the last train of the night from Nuernberg to Munich because she wouldn’t have much time when she reached Nuernberg and since I couldn’t call her, I didn’t know if she would find the right train in time. Since she couldn’t call me, I didn’t know if she was on it or not. So I just went to the train station at 1am anyway because if she did end up making the train and got to Munich and I wasn’t there, she
FrauenkircheFrauenkircheFrauenkirche

One tower, the other is under construction
would have no idea where to go. By some miracle she caught the last train and made it. But anyways, that’s why I wanted to make sure she had money on the phone in case something happened again.

My classes were really difficult today. We were working with prepositions, which are really complex in German. It was a little discouraging. Afterwards I went with the usual group of friends to the Hofbräuhaus, the most famous pub in the world. The food was expensive but the atmosphere was really fun and entertaining. And after we went to Salsalitos again, a Latin American bar that we like. I shared a cocktail with Déborah because I still don’t really like drinking. I think we’re going to Oktoberfest again this week before the last day (Sunday) so we can ride some more rides.


September 30, 2010

Today after class I did my laundry for the first time. My host family’s washing machine is broken so I took all my clothes to a nearby Laundromat. Pretty exciting, I know. It took forever but by the time it was finished, it was time to meet up with my friends to go to Oktoberfest. We found a table inside one of the beer tents this time. Usually it’s really hard to find seats inside the beer tent and not in the outside area because people get there really early in the day and then stay all day to keep good seats. Inside is where the live band and all the dancing on tables takes place. We sat and talked for a little while but we decided to ride some rides instead. I rode Top Spin with everyone, which was really fun, then some of us went to the big roller coaster in the park. It was pretty expensive though and had a long line so a few of us opted out and decided to get some snacks instead. I like how much there is to do at Oktoberfest. It’s not just a beer festival but more like a themepark/fair/carnival all in one.




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

A skullA skull
A skull

Munich Residence
Jordi and Mia Jordi and Mia
Jordi and Mia

at Oktoberfeset
OktoberfestOktoberfest
Oktoberfest

view from one of the rides
OktoberfestOktoberfest
Oktoberfest

view from one of the rides
Mia and JordiMia and Jordi
Mia and Jordi

at Oktoberfest


Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 118; dbt: 0.1211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb