Hofbrauhaus


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
June 28th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ein BIG bierEin BIG bierEin BIG bier

One liter beer. Holy.
(Second part of my day)

Before I get into everything, I must share my sadness in the fact no one in Europe seems to be aware of the City of Ottawa. I guess I'm not overly surprised, I mean you travel in the States and everyone assumes you're from Toronto, but still... I thought maybe, just maybe that would be different in Europe.
But so far, no.

When Sophia and I were chatting on the bus ride to Dachau, of course we talked about where we're from. She said Boston, I'm like oh sweet, Massachusetts - nice area. We talked about the city, I noted how they had a good hockey team this year (I'm so Canadian!) etc. She asked where I was from, I'm from Ottawa. *Blank stare* Canada. "Oh yeah, ok. Never heard of it"

I almost cried.

I'm like it's the capital... "Oh. Ok. I didn't know." It's ok, no one ever seems to know. "Where is it?" In Ontario. "That's like, Toronto right?"

Again, almost cried.

I explained Ontario is a province, which is equivalent to a state. And Ontario (yes, both Toronto and Ottawa) is north of New York State. "Ohhhh ok!"

Anyway, I obviously forgave her for her complete lack of knowledge about Canada, and we headed off to Hofbrauhaus - the most famous beer hall in the world - for supper.

We decided to “share” a beer (she had one sip, she doesn’t like beer) b/c the smallest you can order is one liter. Seriously. I will admit I didn’t finish it, but I got most of it down.

We started with some Weissewurst which is normally only eaten for breakfast, but I wanted to try it before I left Bavaria. It’s a very soft white sausage which you eat with this sweet mustard. You’re supposed to eat it by sucking it out of the casing, but I decided to buck tradition and use a knife and fork. Oh man, it was good.

Main meal was some sort of pork dish, with a weird potato (texture was like a sponge?), and a bread dumpling. It was the best food I’ve had since my arrival in Europe, by far. Of course this also came with a helping of sauerkraut. Mmmyum.

We decided their cakes and ice cream were too expensive, so we headed to
WeisswurstWeisswurstWeisswurst

Soft as butter. Weird, but very good.
the market and go some lovely gelato instead. Good choice.

I’m now debating what to do tomorrow - I don’t want to get up early for the tours to the castles/I don‘t want to pay $100, so I might just head up to Eagle’s Nest by myself. We shall see. And then, it’s off to Prague!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



2nd July 2009

Litres of beer
I definitely remember those beer "mugs". What amazed me were the ladies that brought them to your table. These little German women who could carry six full steins in each hand - full. Crazy. Can't imagine what they would have weighed. mind you that was during Oktoberfest so maybe they called in the heavy artillery. Oh the Haufbrauhaus.
2nd July 2009

Oh man, I can just imagine how crazy it would be there during Oktoberfest..!

Tot: 0.537s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.2696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb