Grüß Gott Berchtesgaden


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Berchtesgaden
July 10th 2014
Published: July 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So of my whole trip, Berchtesgaden has been the most breath taking. The city here lays on the base of the alps, the streams coming from there are crystal clear and taste like bottled water (I got thirsty on my hike into town and the water looked too refreshing). The trainride here was cool as well, there were a bunch of silly late teens going to some concert in Salzburg who almost got thrown off the train for singing too loudly haha.

Something interesting about this little town,it is the only place I saw a memorial to fallen German soldiers, there was a little monument in town and one on a little hill with the names and dates of fallen locals. Sadly, when I got there the tour had been filled so I was unable to go up to the Kehlsteinhaus and it would have been a six hour hike to there alone. I did get to see quite a bit of the town though and found it really great for the views alone.

The Königssee was a clear green color and one could see the bottom it seemed anywhere regardless of how deep. The Kehlsteinhaus was also visable (when not too cloudy up there), what was creepy was at night when the house was lit up it looked like two eyes were glaring at you from the mountain top. I am also not sure how I feel about the ski paths, they start from the top of the mountain and are kept lit up at night even in the summer.

The only downfall to this town was the busses do not run nearly as often or as late as they do in the city. The houses here too are neat, they always put the families name on the house, I even saw a "Klaus Haus". Sad that there is only one day left =/

Servus


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb