Meetings...


Advertisement
Published: June 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Second full day...had a meeting at 11am this morning with the hotel manager to introduce myself. They've been a bit busy with 3 members of staff off ill and the peak season starting this week so I'll be kept busy!
He said to come back at 4pm to discuss the details. The staff apartment where I was supposed to be living is full so Thursday and Friday night I'll be in one of the guest apartments and then on Friday he'll show me a flat he's rented for me in town as a back-up. I then have to decide whether i went to live in town and cycle/walk to work each day or move into the staff apartment. For the first 4-5 weeks I'll be with the housekeeping team learning the ropes, getting to know the hotel and getting my German up to scratch. Then if I'm good enough I'll move up to waitressing and even reception towards the end of my placement. The issue is that I START work at, wait for it, 6.30am!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Should definitely be interesting as I am no morning person, but the fact is that the staff quarters are quite noisy and the restaurant staff would only get back at midnight when I'd need to be asleep to be up at ridiculous o clock! So tomorrow and Friday I'll be working 6.30am - 3.30pm and the manager will show me my two accommodation possibilities after which I'll have to make a decision. So it's all systems go from 6am tomorrow but I'm really looking forward to the challenge and meeting new people! Hope it all goes well. Not sure if I'll have internet in the apartment so will update when I can.

Tschuss!

xx

Advertisement



30th June 2010

Sounds fantastic!
Sorry you'll miss family day this year. Sounds as if you've had a good start - hope that's how it continues. Take care. Good luck! xx

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb