First day nerves...


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Had my first day at work today!

Had to get up at the unearthly hour of 5.45am to be at work for 6.30am and as expected it was a major rush haha. Lovely fresh morning with mist everywhere. Not often I get to see such nice views as I'm usually still safely tucked up in bed! Got kitted out in some very attractive cleaner's gear (or not) and got to work. Was working with the head cleaner and a girl from Croatia who had been there for 4 months and had another month left. Cleaned all the basement area e.g loos (men's included! that was interesting) and spa/pool area. Breakfast was at 8am together with all the staff outside on the veranda looking out onto the lake watching the sun come up. At 9am I went off with 2 other cleaners, Mandy who's about my age and Maria who's the mummy of the group in her 50's I'd say. Our task was to clean the brand-spanking new holiday property apartments. I watched Mandy how things were done and then I was let loose in the rest of the bathrooms. Was very hard work as it's very hot and tiring cleaning bathroom after bathroom! But the girls were a good laugh and I got to sprechen die deutsch which was good! Went down for lunch at 11.30am and then back up to the apartments to carry on. If you want luxury in the black forest then come here! The rooms are LUSH. The luxury suite has a full-on kitchen, jacuzzi bath, monster bed and every room has all the mod-cons. So naturally the cleaning had to be done to a high standard and everything was closely inspected by the head cleaner! We finished doing the rooms at 2.20pm so went back down to the main hotel thinking yay I've finished an hour early but still was given things to do until 3.30pm! By this point I could hardly stand and must have looked like a zombie. I died a little inside when Nicola said "so same time tomorrow at 6.30am, yes?" but then the another lady said I can have the day off tomorrow and come in on Saturday! Score. Parents then came over with all my stuff and I got a well-deserved iced coffee. I was then shown my room by the caretaker and one of the kitchen staff. My room is in the staff building up the hill opposite the apartments. Pleasantly surprised by my room; pretty spacious, with decent -sized cupboard (essential!) and sink. It's basically like a student house, communal bathroom, kitchen and about 6 rooms I think. Going to view the apartment in town with the manager that is my back-up option tomorrow and then I have to choose between the two. The more I think about it the more I want to stay in the staff house. We'll see what happens tomorrow and then it's decision time!
Had dinner back at the hotel where I was staying with my parents (and where I'm writing this from as I'm not sure I'll have internet in the house!)
So a very tiring day but very enjoyable 😊
Tschuss for now!
xx

Advertisement



9th July 2010

YAY!
I didn't know you have a blog, I am full on going to be your most avid subscriber. It all sounds amazing. I'm so glad you're settling in well and practicing the ol' deutch:) OK, I think I spelt that wrong but it will be good German practice for you to correct my zeh bad spelling. Anyway, thinking of you lots...what's you address in Germany??...Just an idea...inverted postcard!!! like, Hi Laima, the weather in England is super, we have been shopping and eating the local grub, wish you were here!, Love Mim...either that or you get an exciting India card:) anyways....stop reading my comment and get back to work slacker! Lots of love, God Bless, Mim xoxo

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb