Lahhhdenburg


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Ladenburg
June 23rd 2010
Published: June 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I got the 3,5e ticket for the 12:22 bahn to Ladenburg but somehow I was on the wrong platform and missed it so I figured that out and got on the 12:44. It's a short 12 minute ride to this SUPER cute non-touristy town. I mean really do people actually live here?? c'mon?! und what would they ever have to stress about - they live in a postcard and ride their bikes with little baskets for bread - ??

I basically just meandered thru for two straight hours because that's all you can really do there - the winding cobblestone streets take you throuh the maze of this little town and every turn is more quaint than the next. A couple churches had awesome exteriors but very plain interiors. One had a timeline listed on the side of it that outlined what had taken place on that location since 120bc through 1903. Certain parts of town had areas that were railed off and contained ruins of building foundations from roman times. Karl Benz and his wife Bertha lived there until they both died and they have his house and the first "ever" garage for people to view; i skipped it.

I loved the town and can't imagine how much better it would have been if I had the first clue what any of the signs said. I got really hungry but my fear of ordering blood pudding and pig eyes stopped me from going to a restaurant. Instead I bought a little container of raspberries and inhaled them.

I took some pics but of course pics don't do it any justice so i took a couple short videos too. If you get motion sickness you may not want to watch.

Jeremy's training is coming to an end, tonight and one more tomorrow morning and he's done. Sounds like three more trips could be in store for him between now and April of next year.

Big soccer game tonight - I'm guessing we'll have our fill by the first half (do they have halfs in soccer??).

nap time. and i need to figure out how i can steal the hotel pillows.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

original towersoriginal towers
original towers

The two towers are original and someone built their home right into these two towers.
Train stationTrain station
Train station

totally dead, me and 3 other people


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb