Mark and Savannah arrive


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Karlsruhe
July 17th 2023
Published: August 1st 2023
Edit Blog Post

July 17, 2023 – Mark and Savannah arrive

I wake up early, I know you are shocked. I arrive downstairs and a wonderful breakfast welcomes me provided by Swen and Eva. Yes, Kirsten and Bea are already having their breakfast. But I did beat Caroline.

Ok, today Mark and Savannah are arriving around 12 pm from Düsseldorf by the end of breakfast that has now grown to 1 pm. I always thought those German trains were so punctual….I guess not.

We discuss what to do this afternoon and we all decide to rent e-bikes and ride through the vineyards close to Karlsruhe. Done! Kirsten has reserved six e-bikes and we are to pick them up around 1:30 pm. Now we just must wait on Mark and Savannah.

Swen picks up Mark and Savannah from the train station and delivers them to the house. Off we go to the e-bike rental on German Wine Strasse.

We arrive at the village where the Wine Strasse ends and rent our bikes. Off we ride into vineyards. Kirsten is leading the way and I’m bringing up the rear.

So, for the first mile, I’m barking instructions on how to change gears, apply brakes and use the e-bike peddle assist. By the third mile, everyone is an expert.

We ride on following Kirsten, where are we going, I have no idea. Me, I just follow Kirsten; you may think you are lost, but she has it totally under control.

After an hour plus of riding, Kirsten pulls into a small village and we find a café serving beer. Boy am I ready for a beer. In fact, everyone was ready, then I had to break the bad news. We now must peddle back to where we came.

Does anyone know where we are? NO! But who cares! We are riding e-bikes thru vineyards on a beautiful day in Germany having a great time!!

Finally, Kirsten says I got this, we’re just over the hill and through the vineyards to Omi’s we go. After everyone finishes a cool beverage, were heading back to the Wine Tower at the southern point of the German Wine Strasse.

We arrive back at the Wine Tower and again have a well-deserved cool beverage before returning our bikes to the rental shop.

While we are resting, Swen texted us that he has reservation for us at a nice German restaurant in downtown Karlsruhe. AWESOME!

Once back in Karlsruhe, we all freshen up and off to dinner we go.

We have a wonderful dinner, and we walk around the downtown area, and everyone had some ice-cream. Karlsruhe is a beautiful city.

Yea, everyone is exhausted we head home and drag ourselves into bed, I was out before my head hit the pillow.

Good night


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb