I swore there was a Gingerbread house around here?


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Freiburg
June 25th 2005
Published: June 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have traveled to Freiburg, on the edge of the black forest. It was a very cozy town. The streets are lined with a running water way where children have taken off their shoes and wade in it and bikes appear to be a major mode of transportation. I arrived on what was apperently market day and to my delight I was able to aquire good bread, sausage, cheese, honey and fruit. The market was just like the Farmers market back home with one notable exception, this one took place just outside the Freiburg Münster, a towering late-Gothic cathedral with stunning stain glass windows.

I took the cable car trip to the top of the Schauinsland peak and hiked all over the area. It was beautiful scenery, especially when you could see a town in the distance nestelled between two mountians. In some areas the evergreen trees almost appeared to droop, being composed of knarled branches with black bark, contrasted by the occational stark white piller of a dead tree. I understood why stories of wicked wiches were told of this area. Just as I was passing through this area, I heard the voices of a young boy and girl walking through the forest. It had turned out I had stumbled across a family bar-b-que, and the parents envited me to sit down and preceeded to give me sausage and water. I was a great time and I enjoyed talking with them, however in the back of my mind I was almost disappointed that I didn't find a gingerbread house.

Once I was back in Freiburg it appeared that I was just in time for Winefest, a local celebration where German bands are playing, there is tonnes of food and everyone is sampling the local beer and wine. I seem to be having good luck in walking into local festivals. Hopefully this luck will continue.

Advertisement



27th June 2005

I am soooo jealous
Hey M: I work with your Dad and he is so proud of you and your accomplishments and I on the other hand, I am jealous!...that you are traveling while young and adventurous. Be sure to take a lot more pictures as the photos so far have been amazing. Be safe! toni
2nd July 2005

lol
mike, your too much....stumbling upon a bbq and actually staying...lol...reminds me of our "younger" days...did you at least offer some compensation for the food? I guess it wasnt necessary...sounds like your having a great time.

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb