The Land of Beer...


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
June 22nd 2005
Published: June 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have finished my tour of Prauge and it is an amazing city. All you have to do is climb to the top of a hill and look over the city and it is breathtaking. Many of the buildings are done in the Baroque style, even the gothic buildings have facades over the original building. The streets are fun just to wonder. The astronomical clock is pretty neat. At each hour, a skeleton rings a bell repeately while a parade of saints pass overhead before the hour bell is rung. The cathedral in the Prague castle was amazing as well. I never understood why the gothic style of chuch was made to provoke a feeling of dread when you though about God....wait, maybe I do.

However Prauge also has another benifit. That is it is very cheap. For around 6 candian dollars I was able to have a full course meal with a beer at a resturant. And at the bar a pint of good quality Czech beer is only 19 Krowns. Just look up the conversion on that! The hostel I stayed at was called the Crown and Bard. A very cool name in my opinion and why I chose to staz there. A dorm room was only 250 Krowns per night, but drinking and late partyzing was pretty much required at this place for a decent night sleep. If I was out until 3 am, I was one of the first people coming home. A nice place anzwazs.

These two factors made Prague a fantastic city. Even got up to the Pillsner brewery and had a tour, where they take you into the old celler and you get to taste beer straight from a wooden cask.

P.S. please exuse any bad spelling involving the confusion of y and z, there are reversed on this keyboard.

Cheers

Advertisement



1st July 2005

Spelling and a liquid bread
Every (even Czech) text editor has got English keyboard. It's changed by shift + left alt. But don't be worry. I've got problems with English keyboard to (I'm Czech). Beer is sometimes by people in Bohemia called: "liquid bread". In the Bible bread presents a body of Christ. So breas has to be used during the celebration. So beer is for Czech religious an Chtists body (I'm pagan). No matter, that Czechs are the second most atheistic nation on the world (the first is Northen Corea).

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb