Day 7: Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
August 10th 2017
Published: August 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

We got downstairs too late for breakfast. We got to The Louvre, the lineup was quite big, but after 30 minutes we made it in. Most importantly, we made it in before the storm came through. There’s some pretty neat stuff inside. I’m not a huge art person, but it’s incredible what people could do then with what they had. The Mona Lisa was drawing the biggest crowd. Off to the side, Ferny and I heard saw some pretentious douchebag taking a video of himself expressing his thoughts that, “People don’t appreciate the Mona Lisa for what it is anymore blah, blah, blah……”. We both stared him down until he felt uncomfortable and stopped filming himself. What a fucking tool. After two hours, we just wanted to get out of there, so we just zoomed through the rest, save for the Venus de Milo, A:K:A. gummy candy on the babysitters ass from that Simpsons episode. We stopped off at a cafe and I ordered a French onion soup. Sooo much grated cheese. We split up for a bit. I went to find out about how to book the bus I needed to get to Amsterdam in person and got to the Paris Disney store for my brother and sister-in-law. I bought a couple of comfy, but not a slob pants from Uniqlo. I love that store. Reconvened at the Arc of Triomphe. People, including us, were trying to run their way across four lanes of traffic to get to the Arc. There was a very angry Police officer trying to prevent people from crossing the circle of death. While waiting in line I was booked my hostel and bus to Amsterdam. I realized I was actually inputting some of my credit card number incorrectly. The shit you do/can't do when you're exhausted. Once we made it to the top the views were quite good. I’d say it was worth the price of admission 12 €. After 30 minutes it started raining and people we scrambling to get down. On the way back I stopped by the laundromat and found the missing sock in the lost bin, plus a T-shirt I didn’t realize I was missing. After a power nap, we went and ate nearby. I love eating traditional food when visit, so I ordered cheese appetizer and a steak tartare. It was very good. The texture was much like tuna. The frites on the side were so light, unlike anything I’ve ever had.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb