Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
August 2nd 2010
Published: August 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I had come to Paris with the idea to spend my time here relaxing and watching Parisian life from the seats of small cafes. My experience was far from this though and once again I find myself leaving with sore feet from the hours I spent walking around and enjoying the city. My experiences in Paris were interesting, fun and diverse. Once again I met up with Michelle from high school and from there the fun and the walking started. We headed to the Catacombs and after a one and a half hour wait we eventually descended on the winding staircase. We were fascinated by the bones that were so delicately placed and arranged. From there we headed to Montparnesse tower and took advantage of the outdoor terrace to see the amazing views of the city. in the distance we could see the Eiffel Tower and this was the next stop. We took some time to sit on the grass and enjoy the surroundings although the number of men asking you if you wanted an Eiffel tower key ring or fresh beer, wine or water became quite annoying after a while so we headed off for some Italian in France and it was delicious. We waited around for the Eiffel Tower to sparkle and glimmer in the night skies.

The following days we headed to Disneyland Paris which was great fun and then Versailles, which was an amazing palace but not quite as amazing as palaces that I saw on my last trip to St Petersburg. That evening we enjoyed the interesting, if not bizarre show at Moulin Rouge. I was not quite sure what to expect and as it turned out I left thinking ‘wow that was interesting’. My favourite parts were the in-between entertainment, including an amazing juggler, acrobats and a ventriloquist. The actual show itself included the obvious, but also bizarre things like ponies being led around the stage by women in minimal clothing and a large swimming pool where a lady was pretending to fight a snake. Quite strange!

The following day was meant to be my designated rest day for the month, but I couldn’t help myself and ended up walking around town for 8 hours. It started off with a short shopping trip, my first real shopping adventure of my holiday, and continued on as I strolled along the Seine River, checked out the famous Love Bridge where Carrie and Mr Big met in the last episodes of Sex and the City, past the Louvre, under the Eiffel Tower and along the Champs De Elyses. A beautiful sunny day spent relaxing and checking out the sights of Paris. Quite delightful really!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb