Fall Break in Nice!! (Part I)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
October 24th 2011
Published: November 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Fall Break!!



Also referred to as the best 6 days of my life! Nice is a gorgeous, friendly city!! People smile and make eye contact, and acknowledge your presence, and let pedestrians cross the street!! The hostel we stayed at is owned by English-speaking expats--a lot of the staff is Australian. They were all very friendly, and we could easily chat with other lodgers, including a Canadian couple--hearing them say "aboot" had me laughing pretty hard. Our room had a mini fridge, and we had our own shower and bathroom, which was a plus, because apparently the hostel bathroom situation can be understandably terrible. The price was fabulous, and the view was PERFECT! You could see the city AND the water, we really lucked out. So, the highlights of the trip...

I can't even begin to describe how hard I fell in love with gnocchi. I had a plate with a delicious gorgonzola sauce--unfortunately, couldn't take any leftovers with me. I'm definitely prepared to attempt to make these on my own!

After local Nicoise pasta, we got some gelato--cactus, mojito, lime, melon, and grapefruit! The lime-mojito-grapefruit melange was incredible, and the cactus was surprisingly refreshing! They also had violet, thyme, rose, and lavender flavors...wasn't brave enough to try any, but I'm sure it was delicious. Our last day, we went back, and this time I overloaded on chocolate variety--pepper and ginger!! In Nice--and Italy--there's a popular treat called socca. The lines to get this crepe-esque pancake stuff were insane, so we didn't get to try any, but it's like an un-sweet crepe with lots of pepper. Not sure how it would taste, but it seemed like everyone else thought it was great!

Also, the BEACH! Ahh, the beach! It wasn't sandy--just smooth rocks. Much less nice to walk on, but it was so great not having sand to try to get rid of! We spend a fair amount of time just watching the waves--the water was so clear and beautiful and blue!! I can't imagine how great it would feel to swim in the summer, provided you have heavy duty water shoes.

There's so much more to say, but I'll pause here for now and put up some pictures 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



5th November 2011

OMG!
OMG your pictures and your blog brought back so many memories for me! I'm glad you had a great time and you're welcome for all the help! Listen, any time you need advice on traveling through France please feel free to message me! Enjoy the rest of your trip and I look forward to seeing the rest of your blogs!

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb