I'm back..............


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Poitou-Charentes » Deux-Sevres
February 4th 2011
Published: February 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone - havent had time to post anything in the last few days as have been very busy - plus I have kinda settled into a routine and doing much of the same things really, so no new things to report on. So what's happened since Monday? Well Tuesday I chopped more wood - big logs this time with a chain saw. Now this may look like fun, but beleive me, when you have sawed logs with a chain saw solidly for 4 hours, it hurts! But I got all the big logs done, so feel like I have acheived something.

Wednesday was my 'day off' from working on the farm, so I decided to go for a swim in Ruffec, a small town about 15 mins away. So i had some brekkie, got all my kit together, and set off. But, it turns out that the pool is reserved for schools every weekday morning, so I couldnt get in. So I had a little wander around Ruffec instead, which is a very pleasant town, with a boulangerie every 4th shop it seems. They do like a boulangerie over here! I had a coffee and a pain au raisin, and then went home to do some web design.

Yesterday I had more wood chopping to do. This time it was just the remnants of the smalller branches, using the axe, which only took about 2 hours. But because it had been raining, the farm yard was thick, thick mud, and the trolley I had to transport all the chopped wood was so clogged up with mud I was dragging it across the yard. But that has now cleared all the wood chopping following the tree pollarding last week. This part of the yard now looks well clear without big piles of branches everywhere.

Then I repaired a greenhouse door which had been blown off in a storm a year ago!!

Then I made a start on chopping back the undergrowth, brambles, and really spikey trees in the bottom field, where Vision, the alpha male, lives with 2 of his pregnant lady friends.

Oh and a few more Silkies hatched today in the incubator. they are now in a fish tank with a nice lamp to keep them warm. Apparently they are much liked bymagpies, as a snack, when they are this size, so are best kept safe indoors. Although I dont know how safe they are with that cat 'guarding' them!!!!

When I had done all that I had lunch, and then got on with some more web design. Then dinner and bed, knackered again!

Oh, and Becky was feeling a bit poorly today, so spent the day in her basket all wrapped up!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb