Sep 9


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Calais
September 9th 2008
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey! I just wrote a whole blog and it got deleted!!!! So I will start again, this weekend I went to a different town called Lille with my host sister, her boyfriend, and the host brother who actually goes to school in Lille. This weekend in Lille there was a huge once a year festaval! I got to see so many things and hear so many things and it was all so amazing. There were so many people thought I had to link arms all the time with my host sister because I was so afraid to get lost! But every street was lined with street vendors selling many different things. I go to see many French scarfs and some pictures and just all different things. I really liked some of the African things that were there. The streets were made of cobbel stone and very narrow and all the buildings were really old, but very beautiful. I wish I could have taken pictures but I guess steaing is a big thing in that town and I would not want to loose the host sisters camera so I chose not to bring it. But I will never forget the beauty. The day was very different from the night. the day was filled with people and music oh speaking of music we went to a concert! It was so funny to hear the French teenagers sing to American music, it must be like what I sound like to them! hahah But yes the music here is often American but just mixed. The Djs here are amazing and can make any type of music sounfd soo good. Well the concert was really cool because I got to haer some English and it was a good break to reconize something English! The night was a total different atmosphere all together... So many people singing to music and dancing and having a good time it was like 30 parties all at once. I loved every sec. of it! Its like people here really can have a good time and all together its just really nice to see all different types ofpeople coming together and having a good time. Late at night we slept at Marions friends house in Lille and had dinner with Timothy the (host brother) and his friends. I slept for a couple hours that day earlier because Im still so tired all the time! But yeah the nest day we back in the town and I got to see the Braderie (I dont think I spelled that correctly) which is with street vendors as well but this unlike the fest. in Lille is every weekend. I really liked seeing everything but it was raining all morning so everything was cold and wet so it was not the best part but I would love to go and see it again. We also went to a zoo that was really neat it did not have cages like most zoos I guess the animals stay behind the ropes because they are used to it. There were zebras ans snakes and many of the same things, the only animal that was different was this owl, it had like a flat face and Ive never seen it before, but I really liked the zoo even in the rain! then we walked around an amusement park, that also was similar to an amusement park in America but here there was soo many choices for candy and food! Oh, there are so much special Northern French food here it is great for me to try it all!!! hahah I tried at the amusement parc these things sort of like a funnel cake but they were round and had a very gooey inside, haha I really love the food here!!! So yeah Lille was amawing, one more thing I forgot about Lille we went on the Metro it was soo packed and it was very different I foudn my self jumping out of my seat when the other trains passed us by! So here a bunch about school...

School here is so different. I go to school at different times each day and have breaks at different times everyday but my longest day is from 8 until almost 6 its very long! But on Wend; we only have like 3 hours of classe and then Sat 3 hours. School is taken much more serioudly than in Montrose. The teachers do not accept being even a sec. late and you must bring an excuse every time you are late from your parents and you must be in class when you have it no exceptions. Also the levels are so much higher like in the Languages the kids can read books in the other languages like it is nothing! I was amazed! But yeah so it a lot harder and for me its the hardest because it is all in French of course! I have to take Spanish and find that the most ridiculously hard class and then I like a couple of classes and I like Math because it is numbers and I can almost understand it! haha The teachers are not all as nice as the teachers in Montrose, I feel like even if I didn't really like the teacher they at least tried to make everyone comfortable in class and like for exchqnge student in Montrose we do everything we can to help them but here its in some classes like im on my own but dont get me wrong some teachers do try to help me out and I really appreciate it. the students here are really nice! The first couple of days were hard to make friends because no one would try to talk to me so the next couple days I would just say things to them so then they started to talk to me more and now I have friends in all my classes who really try to help me out and it is amazing! Im getting a little more home sick just because school is so stressful and I try my hardest and more but there is only so much I can do with my level of French. So I will take one day at a time and try to make the best of everything. France is beautiful and I like it so much, and I find myself finding it strange to speak English because I think of the French words in my head so I think that is a good sign!!


The church!!

The church is the Notre Dam and is HUGE and beautiful! I didnt really get the chance to go in because church was closed last sunday there but the host mom and I went to a different church and it was also huge! So beautiful with statues and paintings of God and just beautifully breathtaken. I did not understand much because it was all in French and also Catholic so I didnt really understand but it was so peacful you could just feel it in the air.



I miss you all

Advertisement



18th September 2008

miss you dad
pep just found out how to do this thing ! looks really neat love ya

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb