Dinner all over France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées
November 5th 2005
Published: November 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

We had a great dinner last night with Jean Marie (John-Maree) and Brenda. It was from several regions of France. A really lively pair who took a lot of joy in having us over. A seven course meal is typical here. Aperiff was nuts, some crisp veggie bites and 2 kinds of wine. Then a tomato salad followed by quiche and wonderful beef Burgandy. Topped off as always with cheese and a different wine. Then we had desert, an apple tartin and also cheesecake served with an apple cider wine. Toward the end of the evening, (it is after midnight now) we had hot tea. Great conversation throughout and lots of fun tales from a couple who met in the peace corps in Africa. She was born in San Francisco, but is truly French now. About my age. We laughed so much it hurt. The people of Foix have been so open and generous with me. That is because Marleen and Ivo attract great friends.
I am signing off since my week in Cordes Sur Ciel starts. Not sure if I can blog from there, but I will if I can. I have about 6 hours travel by train with the layover in Toulouse. cordes.beatitudes.org is the address. not sure if I can or will take pics either. So starts my monastic week. I really thought my French would have improved by now. I have learned a few Flemish words and even a song to sing to Niels when I get back to Oklahoma.
Thank God Im not in Paree. That sounds wild with all the fires. 400 cars in one night?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb