Day 7: Figeac


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Figeac
June 25th 2016
Published: June 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

So this morning I woke up feeling really sick. I could hardly get out of bed. Unfortunately, it was also the day we had to practice the grand oritorio Stabat Mater by Antonin Dvorak. This piece is only about 2 hrs, however it is so slow and so sad that it seems 3 times as long as it really is. This piece was written by Dvorak after the death of his mother. It's about the morning of the Virgin Mary at her sons death. Thoughout the piece Dvorak writes how others must feel the pain with her as he feels the pain with her. After a 3 hr rehearsal we went back to our houses and ate lunch. I was still feeling very sick during lunch. To my dismay The French conductor that led stabat mater tonight wanted another rehearsal with the choir an orchestra together for another three hours this afternoon. By the end of it I physically and mentally looked and felt like a zombie. However, the day was not all bad. My host mother took Greg and I to the oldest standing town in France I forgot what it was called but it was one of 2 towns that withstood the Roman invasion Gaul. It was very beautiful. Tonight's concert went very well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



26th June 2016
Small town

History and Music Are Great Combination
Dear Max, First, feel better soon! These blogs are great. You show your talent for historically anchoring your experiences and I am delighted to read your observations. I wish I could hear the concerts. This oratorio must have been dramatic! Love Nonnie

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb