Figeac & Aix en Provence


Advertisement
Published: June 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Sorry to have a gap in days on my blog. I was pretty sick with a bad tummy virus. I am feeling much better today so I am able to catch you up on my adventures.

Sunday my host family from Figeac woke us up early to embark on a scenic trip to the famous Pech Merle cave. This cave is one of the most famous caves that contains signs of prehistoric man including cave paintings, bones, and tools. We got a tour of the cave and afterwards we had a picnic. Later they took us to another medival village just a few minutes away which was incredibly beautiful and we spent a few hours there exploring, eating, and shopping. (I have included some pictures. I could not take pictures in the caves.) After we went home to the Blue Lake reception dinner to end our staying Figeac.

On Monday the bus ride to Aix-en-Provence was horrible because I felt so sick. I went right to my host families house and went to sleep. My host Mother has taken very good care of me though. First, making me ginger tea, as well as, giving me other remedies which made me feel better by today. Tuesday my first full day I rested a lot but my host family also took me to the beach for a bit. The lake is created by a warm spring and I swam for a bit. I included a picture.

Today, Wednesday, I didn't do much in the beginning of the day. My host family and I mostly stayed home until I had rehearsal at 4p. She fed me puréed apples and rice. Also, the French eat a small meal in the morning, a large lunch and a small dinner. Everything stops during lunch and everyone goes home to eat with their families.

After rehearsal this evening many of my other friends and I stayed at the rehearsal site and ate dinner. We headed to a street over and found a wonderful pizzeria. After eating we walked around the small town of Cadenet for about an hour looking at small shops. We returned to concert hall and had a great concert!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.2611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb