Strasbourg, France & Other News


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lorraine » Metz
March 27th 2008
Published: March 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ugh, so I am sick and you have no idea how hard it is to be sick in a different country! In France they don't have health insurance like us Americans. Well, they do but it is completely different. I feel like I am pretty much isolated thanks to my sinus infection because just about everybody does not want to be around me. Who can blame them? But, when you don't have your parents or siblings or whoever to help look out for you it gets pretty tough. Even if you have a boyfriend or girlfriend they just don't want you to come over when you're not lookin' your best. 😞 I just wish someone would be nice and sympathize for once... this is the part where I really miss my mom.

Anyways, last Friday I was in Strasbourg, France and was able to see where Pierre was born. It's this cute little hospital you would never notice unless someone pointed it out to you. I also saw where Francis' first job was at a Credit Mutual bank, and where his shared his first apartment with Caroline. This city is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! I fell in love immediately, and I guess the citizens really do not get bored because it is always vacation there. Tourists are plentiful just because it has great shopping, a rose cathedral, gorgeous houses, and fabulous food. I actually ate at a typical restaurant there called "Chez Yvonne" and the former French President, Jacques Chirac, actually ate there at several points in his presidency. The French President at the moment, Nicholas Sarkozy, has also eaten there as well as a famous mime and bunches of actors and actresses. I ate some traditional lunch that ended up weighing about 3lbs in my stomach by the end of it. It was potatoes with fromage blanc, and three cups of herbs that you mixed in. I was in heaven, but Pierre ate most of it, so it was just a little short-lived! Pierre ate raw carpaccio, and Francis had some pig leg with a load of corn.

I also met the sister of Antoine, and the cousins of his kids. There was one named Anine who gave me a Seagon, which is the official bird of Strasbourg. She studies political science there, where Pierre will probably soon do as well. We played a lot of card games, and did a lot of walking until I came down with this stupid sinus infection.

My birthday is coming up soon on April 12th, so I am coming to be spending my actual b-day at the Galvez's house. 😊 Then the day afterwards I will spend it with the Gelmetti's at a restaurant because they're Italian and basically just love their food. My family will be joining me in France a week later (not even), so it will be like having three parties! 😊 I cannot wait for them to get over here because we will be traveling to Germany and Austria. My mom went to a boarding school in Austria for two years ate the age of 15, so we're going to go search for that school in Salzbourg.

Other than all of this, nothing much is new with me. I think I am getting ready to come back home to the United States. I miss all of my old habits and friends, and I just cannot wait for this summer to come! I'll be working at the same place I did last summer, so I will at least be able to see all of my old friends.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb