When you don't feel the way you expected to feel in a city...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
September 10th 2015
Published: September 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

This was now my second time visiting the grand city of Paris, and I was anticipating Victor and our friend's first impressions; like reliving my first impression and experiences through their eyes. But from the very start, things weren't going as well as we all thought they would. Sometimes we go to a new destination and get our expectations shattered. Where do these unrealistic expectations even come from? Do they come from movies, novels, or national geographic? What about when you visit a place for the second time, and it's changed from the first time you visited? Expectations are stressful and unrealistic, and sometimes we are totally unaware that we even have them. When we harbor these expectations, we can set ourselves up for failure, which was the case for this trip.





I remember my first trip to Paris, back in 2009. I was fresh from graduating college, didn't have much money, and was literally eating 1 Euro noodle containers, which was all I could afford to eat at the time. But I think that's often when the adventures are the most fun: when you are young and broke and have to be a little more creative with your travels. My bag got left behind and later stolen on the metro (rookie mistake), so with the money I had left, I bought a new camera and replaced my lost clothes with a few inexpensive flea market finds. No tears were shed when I lost my belongings on the metro, because my attitude was that they are just replaceable materials, and besides, I was in Paris baby! My favorite memory was how I made friends with the people in my hostel; people from all around the world. I even got free entrance to the Louvre because the ticket salesman thought I was a "pretty girl." Back then I had no basis for comparison, but I still had a great time. I had just stepped into this new world of travel, and it was all really exciting to me.





Fast forward six years later, and I'm back in Paris again, travelling with my husband Victor and our friends. This was the last city on our Europe trip before going back home, and it was supposed to be very summarized and quick. Kind of like skimming through a book, and saying you know the whole story. The problem is, trying to see everything Paris has to offer in less than 3 days is pretty much impossible, and exhausting. In general, my group was not impressed with Paris, at all. A lot of things were not "clicking" for us here, and everyone kept saying that it just wasn't what they were expecting. There's that word again... expectations. We felt uninspired, under-whelmed by the city, and too rushed by the pace. We weren't sure why this happened. We were grateful to be here, and could agree that the city did have a unique quality of romanticism to it, but we felt guilty that we were not really enjoying it the way we were supposed to. In the end, we were just going through the motions of it all.





In actuality, there are many passionate fans of Paris; individuals who will even go out of their way to defend it, and to fly back a couple of times in their lifetime. But some feel the opposite way, and would suggest you skip it, and remark that it's overrated. You know that phrase, "beauty is in the eye of the beholder"? Well I think that phrase can be applied to travelers and the way they feel about different destinations, because not everyone see's every place the same way. I myself have traveled to a few places that I've loved, but others hated, and vise versa. Whatever category you fall into, there is no denying that Paris is one of the most culturally striking cities in the world, and the Parisians are very proud of that fact.



The first thing that struck Victor and my friends about Paris, is how quick tempered some of the Parisians were. The Parisian cab driver (who took us to our hotel from the airport) was blunt and irritated at us for not knowing how to speak French... which made us wonder, why then would you work in the cab industry: an industry comprised of mostly non-French speaking customers?! "Oui", "merci", "bonjour", and " s'il vous plait" could only get us so far, but at least we tried. Then there was the congestion and pollution. Our friends often joked that we cleaned our lungs in the pure air of Switzerland, only to later dirty them in Paris. There are two culprits to this: cigarette smoke and traffic pollution. It seemed like 90% of the people here smoked. This made it difficult to enjoy an outdoor corner bistro, especially when the wind blew the smoke in our direction, and our face. Even though most of the sites were beautiful, it still wasn't as clean as everyone thought it would be. I think it was the distracting sight of trash mounds, dog poop, and cigarette buds around the Eiffel tower that took them the most by surprise. It was enough to send those picture perfect images of Paris crashing down. As a result of all the long lines at most of the attractions (which sucks the energy right out of you) our group eventually had to split up. Jose and Erika chose to spend some time at the Louvre. Naty and David also did their own thing. Victor and I spent a day looking for places that didn't seem as crowded at the time, like the beautiful crown of Paris, the Sacre Coeur Basilica, and Napoleon's Arc de Triomphe. Both had some of the best views in Paris.









Some people may disagree with us on this one, but we weren't impressed with the food options either. Falling in love with crepes in Paris was something that we expected would happen instantly. Unfortunately, we went to one of the "top rated" crepe restaurants, and they were tasteless and dry, not at all what we expected them to taste like. Victor and I could hardly find a decent vegetarian meal here either, but we did manage to eat a lot of fruit and fluffy croissants. Then one day we were all walking downtown feeling hungry and desperate, so someone in our group suggested we attempt to find a Colombian Restaurant. We did eventually find one, and had our favorite meal of all! Yes, our favorite meal in Paris was a traditional Colombian bandeja paisa.... go figure! The irony of this made us laugh the entire time. I'm sure there is a gourmet Parisian foodie out there cringing right now. However, we did love all the soft chewy freshly baked bread and bakeries at our disposal, and Paris is full of them.







This story is more like a tale of bad timing, but I think that maybe in order to properly fall in love Paris, you have to look beyond just visiting the Eiffel tower or the Louvre. Open yourself up to staying longer and preferably somewhere outside of the city, take it slow, bond with the French using their language, peel back the layers and discover new sites that are not typically talked about. Although most people just want to do a typical tour and check things off their sight seeing list, I think it would be even more beneficial to skip some of these things and visit museums or other places that aren't as well known so that it won't be as overwhelming. Lesson learned too late. My thoughts, however are that I would rather visit parts of France that have breathtaking beautiful outdoor landscapes, like Provence, and the alpine town of Annecy.







Although our time here wasn't the most inspiring, that's to be expected when you travel sometimes. Everyone has different experiences on their travels, and you'll have days when things might not go according to your expectations. Sometimes that feeling you get of wonderment in a new exciting place is instantaneous, but sometimes it's lacking the allure you expected it would have. Judging by our photos of Paris, you'll see that we got to see many typical pretty places, but the "feeling" wasn't entirely there for us. It's really all in the perspective of the individual. I think that the fact that my perspective of Paris changed so much over the years, proves that just like we live different stages in our life, our travels and experiences should constantly be evolving and reflecting that as well. We've realized that our favorite way to travel has not been to "just travel for the sake of travelling", but to choose our destinations wisely, and then test the waters and learn something new from that journey. Our hope is that our next trips will be full of those inspiring moments again, and will bring a fresh set of new perspectives, and appreciation for our earth's natural beauty. I never would have pegged myself as an "outdoorsy" girl, but Victor and I agree that our favorite travels have been the ones spent exploring outdoor terrains, enjoying the oceans, the animals, and taking it at a slower pace in smaller towns. As for our plans, we are not sure exactly when or where our next trip will be, but in the mean time we'll be home refueling our engines while we navigate our options. After all, 50% of our wanderlust is fed by the anticipation of future adventures, and for now that's good enough for us 😊











Happy Travels 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 93, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



23rd September 2015

Oh, no say it isn't so!
First of all what a well written blog and even if you didn't enjoy Paris this time, the pictures are wonderful! We have been to a few places now that weren't quite what we expected. It seems to especially happen in places we have been before and had an excellent time in. As you say, perhaps if you spent longer or went a little slower. Or perhaps if you had of gone somewhere new.....Great blog anyway and it's nice to hear someone being honest about travel for a change. Sometimes it just isn't that great (but the pictures are nice!).
23rd September 2015

Yep, it was so :)
Nanci and David I really appreciate your comment! I had a feeling you would respond this way, since you guys had such a lovely experience in Paris (and I love your photos from those trips as well.) In the back of my mind I was scared I'd get flogged for my interpretation of our experience, so I'm glad you appreciated my honesty!! Thanks so much :)
24th September 2015

Quel domage!
What a pity you had a bad experience. . I have travelled in France to many different places and love the countryside having often just followed the brown tourist signs off the motorway also I have met some lovely French people. Parisians and those from Monaco have a reputation for being rather snooty! Sometimes places off the beaten tourist track give you a better feel than the " must see" places. Best wishes
24th September 2015

Hi Lynn!
I wish I had visited the countryside like you have, and I am certain it would have been a better choice for us, so that's definitely what we'd do next time if we ever get the chance! On my first trip to France I met some really great people, and the second time I came across more snooty ones as you say, but that's how it goes... That's why we appreciate it so much when we meet sweet people on our travels, and they always end up becoming a major part of our happy memories of that country.
24th September 2015

Gorgeous photos as usual!
I loved this blog Jennifer. I agree with your point about expectations (I need to curb mine from time to time); but having said that, sometimes we just don't connect with a place for whatever unexplainable reason. Sorry to hear that this is your last stop on this trip - hoping to see you blogging about your thoughts on your next trip :)
24th September 2015

:)
Thanks Ren & Andrew! Perfectly said, and I'm glad we aren't the only ones not connecting with places from time to time. I'm sure we'll have better luck next time, just gotta keep those expectations in check and listen more to our intuitions. Looking forward to reading about your future travels as well :)
26th September 2015

Paris in Paris
Hello! I am so sorry for you that you didn't enjoy your visit to Paris. And I tell you, I do understand what you are on about! However. I have been living just outside the city of Paris now a good while, and there is the "real" Paris to be found, but unfortunately it's not where all the tourists are. ..or most of them.. Of course, people want to see the Tour Eiffel, Louvre, Notre Dame and so on. I have been visiting them dozens of times, because every time a friend comes over to see me, they naturally want to see the sights. But. If you get off the beaten track and the restaurants full of other foreigners, there is a really great city to be found. You do not get away from the traffic and cigarette smoke though.. And just outside the city, there are some amazing places to visit, and just a fraction of people. Chantilly is the place I recommend. A beautiful castle (probably recognized by many from being in the bond film "A view to kill") and its gardens and even more beautiful stables, with also a horse museum. Because Chantilly is populated by horsy gallop people, its international in a friendly way and most of the people do speak english, voluntarily. On the south side, is among other nice places Charters, beautiful cathedral, nice small town, the champagne country on the east side, the drive there through the pretty old villages and a couple of lakes, that's worth it. To summarize it; Paris can be extremely nice, but you would actually have some "local" to guide you, and not attempt to see all of it, especially within a limited time. France outside Paris is definitely worth experiencing, I highly recommend Normandie, Champagne, Bordeaux region, Lyon, Camargue and Nice. Hope you will be back someday, and find France that you like!
26th September 2015

Great Advice
This is wonderful priceless advice, and hopefully those interested in visiting Paris will get a chance to read your comment before their trip. I also appreciate the manner in which you worded your advice! There is no doubt in my mind that there are places in France that we would love, and my hope is to one day be able to go back and give it an other chance :) thank you

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb