I re-kindled an old romance today ...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 18th 2006
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

aaa

Taken inside of Victor Hugo's house. I imagine that, had I stayed in Sicily for a few more weeks enjoying the incredible food and gelato, I would have ended up looking like this.
Geo: 48.8567, 2.35099

Woke up with a painful thumb today. I had impaled it last night on my spiral notebook's coil. I'm still not sure how it happened - the coil is quite thick and fairly dull. It must be my girly and wussy soft skin.

I added up my total spending for yesterday - $225 CAD!!! It's the most expensive day I've had on this trip, I believe. More than double my average daily budget of $100. It was mostly due to the 100 Euros I spent on the flight, and transport to and from the airports.

Had a great hot chocolate at the hostel. The baguette wasn't bad, either. It's probably the only thing in the hostel that doesn't have a chemical/disinfectant smell to it. Off for a walk down Rue de Rivoli.

It was a postcard-perfect Parisian morning - churches and monuments bathed in warm colours and light ... a little grey haze served not to dull the moment, but provided contrast that intensified the experience and awakened the senses. Otherworldly. That's why I love Paris - because of moments like this!

I wanted to do some clothes shopping on Rue de Rivoli, but nothing was open yet. I got to
bbb

Taken atop the Promenade des Plantes.
Les Halles shopping centre hoping that it would be open, but it was also closed. So instead, I went off to the Marais district and Place des Vosges, where Victor Hugo's house is located.

Two years ago I had wanted to see Hugo's house, but it was closed in preparation for "Nuit Blanche" (an annual all-night festival). There wasn't too much to see there - but "Les Miserables" is my favourite book, so I really wanted to see his house. One more thing has now been crossed off my small list of things "Not yet done" in Paris.

I noticed that all the public toilets are now free. Cool! I can stop peeing in the Seine river now! But I think I'll do it a few more times, just for old times sake! I also noticed there are many more Starbucks around town. And many more overweight Parisians ... further evidence linking the spread of Starbucks with the spread of obesity. The theory I first proposed two years ago has been validated! I hope the committee in charge of handing out the Nobel prizes pays attention to my ground-breaking work.

Off to the Promenade des Plantes - an old aqueduct that
ccc

The stores lining the bottom of the promenade. Immediately after walking around here, I was off to meet my "sweet little Parisian pastry", as I called her two years ago. She was even more beautiful than I remembered ... all the old feelings rushed back ...
has been converted to a flower-lined promenade. Within the arches of the aqueduct are various shops, cafes, and restaurants. It's an interesting spot for a stroll, but I didn't have too much time there, as I had to meet John and Nugget shortly at the Rue Cler market.

I arrived at Rue Cler a few minutes early and there was no sign of them. I figured they'd be a little late anyhow, so I decided to look up an old friend, first. I never told anybody about this two years ago, but on my first trip to Paris, I met somebody very special. We had an all-too-brief relationship - I hesitate to use the word fling or affair, because it felt like so much more than that.

It was intense, passionate, and incredible - going into it, we knew that it would never last. We were too different, and the distance separating us was too great. But that didn't stop us from enjoying the moment. We were inseparable for my time in Paris; we went to the Eiffel tower, the Arc de Triomphe, lingered at cafes, and strolled along the Seine at night. We experienced the City of Lights like
ddd

Her name is "Pain au Chocolat". As soon as I laid my eyes on her two years ago, I knew that I could never live without her. She's a bit flakey, and normally I wouldn't like that in a girl, but she manages to pull it off. Beautifully tanned, shapely, cute little dimples ... what's not to love? But there is one thing that I love most about her ... the way she tastes so sweet and melts in my mouth when I kiss her. We shared many PDAs (public displays of affection) in our time together in Paris. I never understood why, but the Parisians always seemed to be offended by it. It's fine if a man french kisses a woman in public - but I french kiss a pastry, and everyone is upset by it? Hypocritical puritanical bastards!!!
it was meant to be experienced - with someone special.

I guess I've never talked about it until now because leaving her behind was very difficult. For me, it was better to remember it for what it was - a beautiful and unforgettable moment in time. I wanted to remember the moment in my memories the way an artist uses a painting to capture an instant in time - something to be admired afterward, but never to be experienced again. Talking about it would have only diminished the beauty of our time together.

So did I manage to find her again on this trip? Yes, I did - and like the first time I saw her, my heart raced and I was weak in the knees when I laid eyes on her. See the pictures and you'll know why - she truly is indescribably beautiful. Anyway, she couldn't stay long - and John and Nugget would be there at any moment. It was time to say goodbye once more. Sigh .... hopefully we will see each other again before I leave.

John and Nugget finally arrived and we began assembling our picnic - spinach and bacon quiche, a baked hot dog bun encased
eee

Apparently, John needs to stick out his tongue when he concentrates. We wouldn't want him to cut himself with the plastic knife, after all.
in golden brown and bubbly cheese, and an assortment of Chinese food. John went insane when he saw the variety - though he told us he was only getting spring rolls, he ended up getting those, as well as salt and pepper shrimps, and glazed ribs.

Dessert was a raspberry macaroon (too sweet), Swiss brioche, and a really excellent pear (not sure what kind it was). And a really bad apple/pear/who the hell knows what it was? Check out the pics.

We ate in a park just below the Eiffel tower. Afterward, we went back to Rue Cler, where I got a peach tartelette. I was stuffed but I had to do it - it's time to go all out, baby!!! We walked over to Notre Dame, the Deportation Memorial, and Ile St. Louis. We were hoping to get some famous Berthillon ice cream, but it was closed!!! But other places nearby also sold it. It was very expensive for a very tiny portion of hazelnut gelato. I miss Italy and its massive portions of sweet, beautiful, delicious gelato!!!

We walked a bit more and then had a little rest on the Seine. John and Nugget went off to the Eiffel
fff

The crappiest apple/pear/abomination ever! It was some kind of hybrid fruit - absolutely bone dry. Disgusting. It was like someone sucked all the juice out of it. Dry, powdery - I imagine this is what chalk would taste like. But it did manage to serve a decent function - I rubbed it all over my thighs and it eliminated all chafing! Better than baby powder!
tower and I went to the hostel to rest before dinner. The mattress is one of the worst I have ever had. Very thin in the middle, sagging, and uncomfortable. Apparently, the French talent for making pastries doesn't translate into a talent for making mattresses.

Off to meet Naoual (Caroline cancelled). We met in the Etienne Marcel area and wandered around looking for a restaurant. Ended up on Rue Montorgueil - very busy with lots of bars and restaurants. We ran into John and Nugget on their quest for a splurge seafood dinner. Naoual suggested they try Montparnasse - before leaving, John gave me his trademark (and not so subtle) "I know what you're up to!" look.

Anyway, we found a place for a drink and ended up having dinner there, too. We tried looking for a great Thai restaurant she had been to before, but we couldn't find it. So of course, I gave her a hard time about it (I really need to stop doing this with women that I'm interested in!!!).

Had a steak with a unique béarnaise sauce - it was thicker than normal, almost like mayonnaise. It was accompanied with salad and frites. Overall, a
ggg

The front left side of Notre Dame was covered in scaffolding and was being restored two years ago. It seems that they've done a great job of fixing it!
pretty average meal. I really enjoyed having dinner with her - the conversation was pretty good. It's funny because I think I had more fun tonight, but she had more fun last night. It's also strange because we seemed to be hitting it off at times, but she also seemed to be quiet and distant, at others. It's like she's holding back - I'm not sure if it's because she's afraid - she broke up with her boyfriend a few months ago and the biggest reason was that he had moved to Nice. They didn't want to do the whole long distance thing. Or it's possibly because she's "just not that into me". Life is too complicated sometimes!

We went for a walk after and had a crepe (nutella .... coconut .... ahhhhh ....). We hopped the metro and I ended up getting off first. She mentioned that she was busy tomorrow, but that Caroline was free. I would've liked to have seen Caroline, but I just wanted to spend some time alone tomorrow. We said our goodbyes and I went back to the hostel. My feet are killing me - blisters, soreness ... just like two years ago in Paris.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb