Versailles and le 8e Arrondissment!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 2nd 2011
Published: September 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Grandeur



So! It's been a very busy past two days! The first days of classes are over, which is a relief, and so begins the transition into regular, everyday, normal life! My mind is swimming with French accents, not even words, just these jumbled French sounds. Eventually, I can only hope, they'll assemble into an actual, comprehensible language. Madame and Monsieur are very kind, and eager to improve their English while I improve my French. I'm sure they must be horrified at how terribly I treat their language, but they're still very understanding and welcoming.

Donc, today we took a trip to Versailles. It involved a lot of standing and listening, which can be difficult at times, but it was sooo magnificent. I couldn't imagine living in a place like this, and having so many drawing rooms, even though it apparently was not a very comfortable place to live (i.e. horrible stench, very warm). After that, I moved over to le 8e arrondissement! It's in a very central part of Paris, and it's fairly easy to get to class from where I live. We got to the see a couple of original chandeliers, and of course, the hall of mirrors.

Yesterday, a couple of us took a hike up to Sacre-coeur, and then later down to the Champs-Elysees to scope out the neighborhood. I think in the next few weeks, I'll have to invest in another pair of shoes....




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Side of the Hall of MirrorsSide of the Hall of Mirrors
Side of the Hall of Mirrors

It was very crowded, and the lighting wasn't great, so I can't say I have fantastic pictures.
Original ChandelierOriginal Chandelier
Original Chandelier

Grayish purple
VersaillesVersailles
Versailles

From le jardin
Living SpaceLiving Space
Living Space

Desk + Window of my room


4th September 2011

Chic Abode
Katy, I love the picture you took of your desk in your room. That is the hotel correct? in the single room? I absolutely love the window, this fits you so well. It is so chic and artsy and simple but very elegant!! I am so glad that everything is going well so far. : )
4th September 2011

Actually, the desk is in my room at my host family's flat. Their apartment is nice, it has super high ceilings and lots of windows :)

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb