6th Arrondissement & other things


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 31st 2011
Published: August 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

6e Arrondissement

Where Tyler, John, and I enjoyed a post-jeu de piste beverage.

My lovely scarfMy lovely scarfMy lovely scarf

Maybe I'll go back and buy the blue, pink, and chartreuse ones....

Lèche-vitrine!



Today, we had a jeu de piste, or scavenger hunt around the 6th arrondissement--the Rive Gauche. This was a little unfortunate for my male companions, because instead of paying attention to the assignment, I was staring at/drooling over the Dior, Louis Vitton, Armani boutiques. What's the relevance of the oldest restaurant in Paris if it doesn't sell Dior?? And do I now depend on your financial charity to see me through the semester without starving to death? No, but I did buy a really cute polka-dotted scarf (not from any aforementioned designer). And café au lait. On that note, I also had to fight the temptation to go to Starbucks twice. Unbelievable, right? I have yet to find a cheap, 12-oz cup of coffee in this city. Now, back to this scarf. I had to choose from about 10--magenta/white, navy/white, chartreuse/white, orange/brown, sky blue/white (seeing a pattern yet?). Not an easy decision, especially for someone who doesn't often wear a scarf. There are so many scarves in Paris, I couldn't...not get one.

Aside from the scarf shopping, we also walked through le Jardin du Luxembourg. It's strange to me as an American, as far as parks go. It's very beautiful, sure, but you can't touch the grass. People sit in metal chairs and stare at the grass/flowers/trees. One thing I noticed that Paris lacks is grass, but in such a crowded city, I guess it makes sense that grass is sparse. Either way, the garden is very well tended, and includes a number of statues and fountains, so it will make a great study spot in the future. In terms of dining, this arrondissement, being somewhat touristy and very artsy, is a little on the expensive side, so it'd be a great time to pack a lunch (did someone say .90€ baguette?)

Two of four classes met today, and the other two will begin tomorrow. The semester ahead doesn't look too terrible at all! A+, mes amis!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

John and TylerJohn and Tyler
John and Tyler

Focusing intently while I window shop.


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb