Crowds and tourists spots...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 7th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

You just cant get away from the crowds of people when you're visiting popular tourist stops.. Unfortunately you gotta take one with the other.. And unfortunately overly busy places can definately take away some of the enjoyment of the place you're experiecing..

Woke up yesterday morning with a cold! Yay! Although am pretty impressed, it took over 3months and god knows how many changes in climate, as well as being around sick boys (twice!) before it finally hit me, and its just a stuffed nose and that heady feeling you get when ur sick you know, so Im sure it'll pass... Although I've finally worked out how to keep the maids out!! There is no "do not disturb" signs in this hotel and the maids kept coming in at like 8am to clean the room!! Now anyone that knows me knows that there is NO WAY i'd be up this early unless I had to so needless to say, I have not been impressed! SO I made my own sign, written in French from my phrasebooks saying "Still sleeping"! Has worked a treat! They havent interrupted me yet! Although Im pretty sure the maid was abusing me in French as
I walked past her in the hall but yeh! I get to sleep! Which is so hard here as it doesnt get dark till like 10.30pm! You body just doesnt want to sleep while its still light!

Decided to spend my last 2days in Paris tackling as many sights as I could, catching the Metro which until this point I've been scared to take! (thanks Brad :P) but am rather proud of myself as I didnt get lost! It is rather confusing and i did get on the wrong train at one point but was still able to find my way to where I wanted to go! Just took a different route!

So my first stop was the Lourve, this was within walking distance from my hotel so walk I did (dad you'd be impressed at the amount of walking I've done!) The Lourve is very impressive, very overcrowded and Im sure wonderful.. If you were interested in art and artifacts which unfortunately I am not.. Still spent about 2hours there, most of this time was spent looking for the Mona Lisa, finally found her and you could'nt take photos! Dam!!

Next I caught the Metro to
At the ConcordeAt the ConcordeAt the Concorde

With the Eiffel tower in the background..
the Arc de Triomphe, something Brad told me I had to do.. Why my dear?? hehe, nah Im sure the view from the top would have been wonderful but today was rather overcast and because Im sick I just didnt have the energy to climb to the top! So I gave that I miss, I struggled just with the stairs at the Lourve!

And then later the stairs in the catacombs killed me!! The catacombs, the underground tunnels in Paris, takes about an 1hour to get through them all, luckily you cant get lost!

Woke up Friday morning to the sound of my phone ringing, who the hell was ringing my phone?? Anyway didnt answer it and went back to sleep, was not impressed as I only managed to get to sleep at about 5am this morning due to this bloody cold! So slept in and didnt head out until about 11.30am..

First stop today was the Concorde, saw this on my hop on hop off adventures and decided it was worth another look, went wandering through here aimlessly until I found myself in front of the Lourve. Pay attention Michelle! haha had no idea I was
Foundation at the ConcordeFoundation at the ConcordeFoundation at the Concorde

Im so not going to remember whats what by the time I get home! haha
headed that way, had no idea where I was headed thanks to the distraction my phone was giving me, same person who woke me up this morning! WHen I find out who u are.... GRRRRRRRRR

Anyway after the Concorde jumped back on the metro to explore Champs Elyssess, now jef told me to have a glass of champagne on the top of this for him.. Only problem was I honestly couldnt find what he was talking about! I walked all around this area and found nothing resembling anything I could climb! Hmm.. So yeh Sorry Jef, but I completely missed it!

Last stop was the Musee de Orsay, another art gallery, I wander if this is where all the paintings that arent good enough to be in the Lourve end up?? hehe These sort of things dont thrill me and as I wasnt feeling too well I didnt stay long..

And that ends my adventures in Paris.. Beautiful city, so much to see and do, unfortunately full of randoms that like to come up and try to chat me up! like the one I got on the way to this internet cafe!! WTF! Tomorrow off to Rome before heading to Brussels on Tuesday and then to Munich on Saturday.. Going to be a crazy week!! Time is going so quickly now.. Only 6weeks till I come home 😞 or 😊 I havent decided yet, I change my mind so many times a day about so many different things I cant keep them straight anymore! haha..

And if one more guy (or dont know for that matter) comes up with one more random comment today, I am going to SCREAM!! Is it a full moon in Perth and I dont know it??

*why is it so easy to attract unwanted attention but not to hold the attention of the one you want?*





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb