The Magic of Disney


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 6th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had one main thing that I absolutely had to do when coming to Paris, and that was to go to Disneyland! I've been to the one in the US about 10years ago so I wanted to go to Paris Disney to see how it compares and whether the magic is still the same when you're 20 compared to when you're 12.. And I must say, walking through the front gates in MainTown Disney.. The magic is the same, the rides dont have the same appeal but the feeling to the whole place is still magical, although its definately one time I wish I had someone to share it besides Bonnie (the little me to u bear attached to my bag, not one word Callum :P). walking around Disney, despite the crowds of people, I can honestly say this is one of the best days of my trip so far and definately a day when I've felt the happiest and carefree.. I was treated to a parade almost the second I walked through the door which was nice as there werent that many people around.. OMG the crowds of people were ridiclious!! And so many little kids (duh hehe), and pushy parents! my god!! Anyway I first ventured into Frontierland to visit one of my favourite rides from when I was a kid, the Big Thunder MOuntain Railroad, the queue was about 25mins long which isnt too bad when you consider when I was in Disneyland 9years ago we were sometimes waiting up to 2hours to go on a 3minute ride.. Sounds crazy I know, but hey.. I tell you what, the whole time I was on this ride, I couldnt wipe the smile of my face and that set the mood for the rest of the day.. Went crazy in the shops as well, its amazing how quickly the Euros can disappear, thank god I stole that suitcase back from Moosh! hehe.. The only disappointing thing about Euro Disney is that its much smaller than the one in California and was missing, in my opinion (and my Dad's too I think) the best 2 rides, the Matterhorn and Splash Mountain! How you can have a Disney without Splash Mountain I dont know! But apparently you can!! Indiana Jones was another favourite ride as a kid, and here in Euro Disney it was just a rollercoaster, that actually did a 360degree loop.. Yuck, did not go on that! That doesnt happen in US Disney and is why they built California Adventures, to have a park that just had rollercoasters.. In US Disney all the rides had a point, there was a story behind them, they told a story as you went through the ride (ZipeeDeedoDah Dad! heeh) but here they were just rollercoasters, so abit disappointing but a magical ride none the less..

I had bought a One day Hopper ticket which allowed me access to Disneyland and Walt Disney Studios next door but as I spent most of the day in Disneyland, I only had time to pop my head into the Studios to decide if it was worth going back.. I decide it was so the following day I jumped back on the RER and headed back to Disney.. So easy to get there from Paris, just a half hour train ride thats included in the Paris Visit card I bought so cost me nothing extra.. Briliant!!

Walt Disney Studios I must admit was disappointing and probably not worth going back but oh well.. Spent an hour waiting in line for an rollercoaster featuring AeroSmith that was so rough and went upside down!! Now if I had known this there was no way I would've gone on it, but it was all in the dark and hidden from view so it wasnt until it actually happened that I realised what was going on.. Came off this feeling extremely sick and really didnt recover the whole day.. Sucks feeling sick and having no one to comfort or look after you 😞 Sucks even worse when I woke up this (Thurs) morning with a cold (first one in 3months despite about 5different climates.. not bad!) Did a tram ride which took you through the special effects and how they are put together.. Not as cool as the tram ride I did at Universal Studios in LA where Jim Carrey mooned the tram but still pretty cool!

Finished off the day by walking around Disney Village, a huge place full of restaurants and bars.. Walked into the movie cinemas and asked if they were showing any movies in English.. The only one they had showing was for Pirates of the Caribean an hour later... SOLD!! Bloody hell thats a long movie, good movie but with a rather disappointing ending
Its a Small World RideIts a Small World RideIts a Small World Ride

and it really is a small world! although I didnt see Australia represented in here! Was good to see this ride as it was closed when we were at US Disneyland 10years ago..
I thought, better than the 2nd in my opinion but nothing can top the first pirate movie I think.. Johnny Depp is brilliant though, saw "Jack Sparrow" stumbling around the Disneyland Ride the day before hehe.. Wish I'd gotten a photo!





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Watch Tigger bounce!Watch Tigger bounce!
Watch Tigger bounce!

This ones for u Dad :P
Special Effects in Studios BacklotSpecial Effects in Studios Backlot
Special Effects in Studios Backlot

a wave of water came rushing for the tram, was fantastic to see!!


Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb