At Rejse Er At Leve


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Midtjylland » Aarhus
April 19th 2010
Published: April 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

"At rejse er at leve" - H.C. Andersen.
"To travel is to live" - H.C. Andersen.


Since my last post, I've been slightly busy 😉

The last week in March we had Easter Break. We went and visited my host dad's parents which was very cosy 😊 They also showed me Legoland, which was epic of course. 😊 We also visited my host mom's parents at their summer house, which was of course beautiful. My host family took me to Copenhagen where we saw Louisianna (an art museum) I went shopping with my host mom, and we took a canal tour of Copenhagen. The sun was shining, so the canal tour was absolutely beautiful, and I got to see a lot of Copenhagen.

Then on April 11th, my class and I left for a week in Barcelona!! Barcelona is absolutely gorgeous. We stayed in a hostel which was very close to La Rambla, (a very famous street) The performers and street vendors make walking down the street an experience in itself. We were at the Gaudi Museum and also the Gaudi Park, and sat on the longest bench in the world, created by Gaudi. We visited the oldest winery in Spain, CodornĂ­u. The winery is absolutely beautiful and a must see for anyone visiting Spain. Another must see that we visited is Montserrat. Nestled in the hills of Spain, this monastery is a gorgeous sight to see. The highlight of Montserrat is "The Black Madonna" or "The Virgin of Montserrat" Many Catholics make the pilgrimage to Spain, just to see this legendary statue. After spending a wonderful week in Barcelona and making memories I will never forget with my classmates...

The Volcano erupted in Iceland. All airports in Northern Europe closed down because of the massive ash cloud it created. So we traveled to the airport on Friday, and to no surprise, our flight was canceled. We spent 5 hours stuck in the airport, we spent 1 hour getting back to the hostel, spent the night there, and then waited for a bus which was 4 hours late. Then we spent about 30 hours on the non air-conditioned bus, to arrive back home safely in Denmark.

I continue to be completely content with my host family and everything is going well as always here in Denmark.

Vi ses!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Sigh!Sigh!
Sigh!

At Cordoniu


26th April 2010

looks good
Looks look like they continue to be good. School here is starting its last final push until the end. The weather has been unseasonably warm and all the plants are 3 weeks early. The apple farmers are scared of impending frost with the buds - popping so early. the cherries blossoms are all out and beautiful. As always I hope things are going well for you.

Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb