Maj!


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Midtjylland » Aarhus
May 16th 2010
Published: May 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Queens Summer ResidenceThe Queens Summer ResidenceThe Queens Summer Residence

The queen of Denmark's summer house in Aarhus.
Hello again!

Since I've gotten home from Barcelona, I've been mostly planning for my quickly upcoming summer. However, I'll give you the highlights 😊

The end of April was fairly relaxed, just going to school and "doin' my thing"

The May weather in Denmark is very...unpredictable. Some days it is warm and sunny, and others it's raining and actually quite cold. However, my friends and I take full advantage of the warm and sunny days, and looking forward to more ahead. Something I have noticed about Danes, is that discussing the weather isn't just a "filler" for conversations. It's actually something frequently and seriously discussed.

On May 2nd, a GSE team of 6 Americans from Missouri visited our Rotary Club. I accompanied them as we showed them some highlights of Aarhus, including the Queens Summer Residence and Den Gamle By. It was really nice to see a group of Americans, because I could judge the way I act against the way they act, and I could really see how far I've come into the Danish culture. It's really amazing to see yourself naturally be part of another culture.

Another way I have been "judged" this month
DaisyDaisyDaisy

The National Flower of Denmark.
is with my language. The first test was through with small children. We babysat my two host cousins ages 3 and 7. In the beginning, I misinterpreted their shyness as them not understanding when I speak danish. However, it turns out they were just shy and the small children could understand me. Which means my accent isn't as heavy, and my grammar isn't ALL terrible. My second test of language this month was my 20 minute Rotary Presentation all in Danish. I was extremely nervous for that presentation, but I put a lot of preparation and practice which resulted in a very well delivered presentation.

I have also experienced my birthday in Denmark. On birthdays, Danes are insane with flags. The flag is displayed everywhere in the house, outside the house, and on the napkins. We had some friends over and had cake and "hygge" and then we had spare ribs for dinner, and then I went out and danced all night long with my friend 😊 It was a very cozy birthday. 😊

That is all for now...On Sunday I'm taking off for a 3 week bus tour of Europe. :D I am thrilled to be able to have this opportunity. Thanks for reading 😊 Vi ses.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Old Style ReclinerOld Style Recliner
Old Style Recliner

Located in Den Gamle By (the old village) in Denmark
Let's Go Fly A KiteLet's Go Fly A Kite
Let's Go Fly A Kite

Enjoying one of the warmer spring days :)


16th May 2010

..............
I'm sure Matt was part of the Missouri delegation-though there is no mention of him. I hope all went well with your visit. Barcelona - sounds great. There are only 20 more class days here then Regents classes. Summer is approaching quickly. Many of the days here have been beautiful though now we are somewhat lacking in rain. Project Pheonix w/ Deb Teska -she is retiring. Amelia hit a hurdle and tore her ACL in her knee away along with a rip in the meniscus. She is facing surgery in June and a 7-9 month recuperation time. That will wash 2010-2011 swim season for her - she was going to try to break the backstroke, understandably she is bumming. I would like to know when your arrival date is. I probably won't meet the plane but I'd like to stop in shortly there after. Please email me when you have your itinerary. -Heidi

Tot: 0.327s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb