Nice Time in Copenhagen


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
August 19th 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Top of Church of our SaviorTop of Church of our SaviorTop of Church of our Savior

I forget how many stairs there were and it was not for the light hearted, but well worth the climb. It was an amazing view from the top of this dome.
I think most of you know, but when I returned to the US to renew my visa, I made a few side stops along the way in Copenhagen and Brussels. I heard how beautiful Copenhagen and how friendly the people were so wanted to stop to see for myself. Now do not get my wrong, I had a wonderful time and I did find the people very nice, loved the buildings, had a great tour guide; but I did not fall in love with it. Again, I recommend going, but it was not a place I would rush back to. A few days there and I think that is all you would need, but as you can see from some of the pictures, it was great weather and some wonderful skylines/buidlings.

And yes, I did have a lot more written about Copenhagen, but when travelblog crashed, I lost my draft and did not have a back up copy.

The city is fairly small and you can cover most it on foot; however, my tour guide said I was not the typical American he has toured around. I asked why, he said I was keeping up with him and did
Central CityCentral CityCentral City

If I remember correctly, this was their judical building, but it was located in the city center. It was a very pretty building that I never could capture completely on the camera.
not request a break. I told him that was because I have been living in Russia where there too we do a lot of walking but had I been directly from the States, I would have needed a break a long time ago...lol

Most of the pictures I tried to tell you a little bit about, but the one that I need to go into more detail is Christiania. I forget where the name came from, but this is old army units that were left and some hippies moved into them. Over the years, more and more until now, it is its own enforced community with about 1000 people living there, but over 10,000 visitors. The member residents vote on who can move in when there is room and being self enforced, pretty much you could find any soft drug you wanted here, which why they do not allow cameras. The police never shut it down because this way it was sort of controlled in one area and they did a good job of self regulating themselves so there was not a much need for outside law enforcement. Now the city wants to take it back since these people
Wind PowerWind PowerWind Power

Depending on who you asked, but somewhere between 15-25% of the electricity in Denmark is generated from windmills. It is amazing to think how spoiled we are with our fuel generating power when there is sunlight and windpower not even close to being captured.
never bought the land, buildings, etc. But most say that is because the property is worth a lot of money because it is in a prime location. The residents say, they cleaned it up, they control it, and they have lived there for I forget how many years so there is a big battle over this area.

Also, in case you were wondering, Denmark is part of the EU, but uses it own currency. It is much weaker than the Euro, but follows the Euro exactly. It was a pain, at one point, I had rubles, dollars, Euros and danish. Now, on to Brussles.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Sort of Like AmsterdamSort of Like Amsterdam
Sort of Like Amsterdam

In a lot of ways, Copenhagen reminded me of Amsterdam.
Sort of Like AmsterdamSort of Like Amsterdam
Sort of Like Amsterdam

In a lot of ways, Copenhagen reminded me of Amsterdam or even Venice.
Climbed to the TopClimbed to the Top
Climbed to the Top

Without a break, we climbed to the top of this Church, called The Church of our Saviour. Wow and what a view it was!
What a viewWhat a view
What a view

Without a break, we climbed to the top of this Church, called The Church of our Saviour. Wow and what a view it was!
What a viewWhat a view
What a view

Without a break, we climbed to the top of this Church, called The Church of our Saviour. Wow and what a view it was!
What a viewWhat a view
What a view

Without a break, we climbed to the top of this Church, called The Church of our Saviour. Wow and what a view it was!
Typical StreetTypical Street
Typical Street

If you ever wonder why the buildings on the corners are not square is because in one of their big fires, the fire trucks could not make the turns so after that, all corners had to be at angles so the trucks could get through.
Old Shipping DockOld Shipping Dock
Old Shipping Dock

If I remember correctly, this is now a library, but use to be an old shipping dock.
ChristianiaChristiania
Christiania

This was a wild place and I am really glad we stopped. No cameras were allowed inside so I had to put it away, but if you ever go to Copenhagen, you must stop here!
Queen's PalaceQueen's Palace
Queen's Palace

It amazed me that I could go up and touch the palace door if I wanted. I am not saying one of those guards would not ask me to leave, but literally, we were right next to the palaces.
Jailhouse RestaurantJailhouse Restaurant
Jailhouse Restaurant

This was a cool restaurant the B&B recommeded. You could eat in a "cell" but there were bars on the windows, all of the tables and chairs were stainless steel or black iron and the waiters and waitresses were all dressed in prison guard uniforms with billy clubs.
Little MermaidLittle Mermaid
Little Mermaid

There was a crowd of people and my tour guide said she was not that interesting so I just took the picture from up on the hill of where she was located.


Tot: 0.39s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb