Rainy Time in Brussels


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
August 19th 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

AtomiumAtomiumAtomium

Maybe if I had to live with looking at this all of the time, I would not like it either, but I was impressed with it.
Even though it rained just about the entire time I was, I had a great time in Brussel. Everyone told me I would find it boring and not like it so after I was not thrilled with Denmark, I was starting to worried, I booked too many days in Brussels. However, to my surprise, I loved it even with the rain. I am not sure what it was because it too was not that large of a city, but I think it was the polical charge coupled with the old European charm.

A lot of people from Brussels hate the Atomium that was build for one of the World Fairs, but I happen to love it. I am not posting all of the pictures I took of it, but I did take a bunch. Being able to go into the EU Paralment, was also exciting. Unfortunitely they were not in session while I was there, but it was still awesome to see. The information center for the EU was worth stopping by and looking at and all of this was free. They kept telling us, this is for the people and the people should not have to pay to see
AtomiumAtomiumAtomium

Maybe if I had to live with looking at this all of the time, I would not like it either, but I was impressed with it.
their govenment in action.

I could not believe, while we were standing in line to get in, they have tours only at certain times of the day, we had to give up our passports as documentation that we were in the building and of course go through a metal detection system. There was a guy about 5 people in front of me who had a gun, yes a gun. I am not sure what kind it was, but the security ran the bag twice and of course they all had to look at the screen and finally ask if they can look in the bag and out they pull a pistol. About that time, the security are all over him and we were just watching in disbelief. The lady behind me was from London and all I remember her saying was something like, "The chats gots a blood gun!" Her friends did not see it nor did they believe her. Needless to say, he was not allowed on the tour.

I was a little disappointed with the Manneken Pis. He is talked about all over the world and when I went to see him, yes, it is a
Sablon ChurchSablon ChurchSablon Church

I just loved this church, but could never get it on camera to show the true beauty of it. I went went there at night trying to get the stainglass windows luminating, but just could not get it.
little boy that is pissing. Not exciting what I would call exciting, but he is world famous. I did try Beligum waffles, and they were good, but I like the ones back home just as well and the cholocate was good as well, but I sure would not fly to Beligum just to get cholocate.

As you will see by the picture, the buildings here was awesome as well. Sit back and enjoy the pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Sablon ChurchSablon Church
Sablon Church

I just loved this church, but could never get it on camera to show the true beauty of it. I went went there at night trying to get the stainglass windows luminating, but just could not get it.
Sablon ChurchSablon Church
Sablon Church

I just loved this church, but could never get it on camera to show the true beauty of it. I went went there at night trying to get the stainglass windows luminating, but just could not get it.
Sablon ChurchSablon Church
Sablon Church

I just loved this church, but could never get it on camera to show the true beauty of it. I went went there at night trying to get the stainglass windows luminating, but just could not get it.
EU ParlamentEU Parlament
EU Parlament

I was impressed!
EU ParlamentEU Parlament
EU Parlament

I was impressed!
Triumphal ArchTriumphal Arch
Triumphal Arch

This was pretty neat.
Music MuseumMusic Museum
Music Museum

Showed this picture for the art style of metal and glass. I forget the name of it, but it was a pretty building.
ChurchChurch
Church

This is what happens when you do not write things down and/or enter your blog notes right away, you forget. I liked the picture and wanted to share.
Department StoreDepartment Store
Department Store

This is what happens when you do not write things down and/or enter your blog notes right away, you forget. I liked the picture and wanted to share.
Grand PalaceGrand Palace
Grand Palace

Again, my pictures do not do this justice and the weather did not help nor did the bleechers they set up for some annual event, but here are a few for you.
Grand PalaceGrand Palace
Grand Palace

Again, my pictures do not do this justice and the weather did not help nor did the bleechers they set up for some annual event, but here are a few for you.
Grand PalaceGrand Palace
Grand Palace

Again, my pictures do not do this justice and the weather did not help nor did the bleechers they set up for some annual event, but here are a few for you.
Manneken PisManneken Pis
Manneken Pis

Nothing too exciting, but everyone knows him.
Manneken PisManneken Pis
Manneken Pis

Nothing too exciting, but everyone knows him.
Toy MuseumToy Museum
Toy Museum

I did not go through the museum, but did go in the gift shop and the lobby area.


20th August 2007

Pis
I too remember seeing this in my first Europe trip and was so disappointed. I thought it would be BIG and impressive but it's not even in a good area and it's SMALL. Oh well, add it to your list of been there, done that!
27th August 2007

Brussels
I know you're not a beer drinker, but if I had known you were going to be in Brussels, I'd have asked you to have a gueze for me!
27th August 2007

Sorry About That
I can check with my sister who is thinking of making a family trip there, but probably not until next spring, but I can have her pick it up for you if you tell me what specifically you are looking for, and that is assuming she decides to go.

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 16; qc: 21; dbt: 0.1059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb