A Place to Come Back to


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
September 5th 2006
Published: September 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well it's not the only place that we'd like to revisit but it's definitely high on the list, only next time we'll come in Winter when it's a little quieter and covered in Snow.

Prague is wonderful! We met Kirsten and Camilla soon after we arrived and shortly set off for some beer. That was night one.

Our first day was bright and sunny, and after morning coffee on the square and a brief stop to watch death chime the hour it was off to the Charles Bridge, the icon of the city. Well, it's beautiful. The big gate at the old town end is majestic and towering and the 12 statues which line the sides transport you back in time almost, pity its overrun with package tourists ( in the evening it's much quieter and the buskers give it a nice atmosphere). It gives you your first view of the Prague Castle, which is like something out of a fairy tale.

We wound our way up the hill through the cobbled streets of Mala Strana. The cuteness of the town was intoxicating. Had to stop for lunch; a hearty feed of ham steaks and dumplings, mmmm.

The castle itself is quite grand once you arrive and the views across town are pretty special. The guards are pretty special too. Kirst had her photo taken with one guy, but she wouldn't put her arm round her and kept her distance, :P People like to make out a lot here which is a bit odd; the castle ramparts seem to be a favourite spot.

The best thing about it perhaps is the fact that you can wander the gardens and courtyards completely free of charge, and even poke your nose into the fantastic St Vitus' Cathderal without paying a cent either = good value. We did get tickets which enabled us to wander around the whole Cathedral, which was a good thing as the stained glass windows there are the most beautiful I have ever seen. There is even one designed by Czech Rep's fave painter, Alfonse Mucha. Corb though the monk looked the guy from Star Wars, but really its stunning. Wish I could have one of them in my place one day. You're supposed to pay extra to take photos but egged on by badass Camilla we all broke the rules and took some sneaky pics... they dont do it justice though - amazing.

Despite the heavy lunch we all made it the 287 dizzying steps to the top of the Grand Tower and the views were well worth it - Amazing! I keep finding things which endear me to the city and looking down across it was another. Beautiful.

Wandering the rest of the castle was ok, but St Vitus' and the view were definitely the highpoints. Next time we'll buy the more expensive tickets and check out St Georges, I hear its pretty good too.

Had dinner at a cute little pizza place; Kirst and Camilla had their wine served in individual carafes. I think we'll be back.

Day two was as sunny and warm as the first and after coffee with the girls I set off to the Mucha Museum. It was awesome! And the film was actually informative and enjoyable. The guy was a genius, his stuff is just wonderful. Camilla got herself a calendar and I wished for a moment that I was just on a long weekend holiday too just so I could take one home. I bought a series of postcards which I'll frame though. It was a highlight of Prague and the trip in general; go find the website now - go!

All throughout town and on Wencelas Sqaure are a whole bunch of crazy sculptures. Some are of skeletons and some are toilets in mid air. I spent a good while wandering my way through them all. This is certainly a city that makes you think and inspires creativity. If only I had my minolta......

Wandered along the riverbank in the afternoon and watched the sun set from the Charles Bridge. Aaaahhh.

Stopped off to check out the Dancing House. Sadly it doesnt really dance (cos that would have been too cool) but the way the glass appears to bend and the supports look like legs make it look that way. I love all the buildings here - old, new, baroque, gothic, modern: this place is choice!

We've left St Nicholas' and the Kafka Museum for the next trip. I'm not hugely up to date on Kafka and his work so I think I'll try and make the effort to read his Metamorphosis in time for our next visit (homework!).

Dinner was at a great place all decked out like a traditional old tavern with wooden stables and carved chairs, animal skins, coats of arms and other funky decoration. The steak with bacon, beer and onions was kick ass and the dessert we shared of apples, walnuts, honey, cream and cinnamon was sooo delicious. My stomach ached but we had to have a last walk along the river to stare out across the bridge to the castle one last time. I think it might be even more magical at night.

I may have ranted a lot. Lots of people rave about Prague. Lots think its overrated. I dont know what it is but I love it. And I cant wait til we come back. In the snow. With big coats.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb