Beautiful Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 30th 2006
Published: August 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Prague CastlePrague CastlePrague Castle

This is a beautiful city!
My friend Mickey will be happy to know that I am officially fluent in public transportation. She once commented in the office that “Christy’s version of public transportation is a taxi.” (I don’t deny it). Yes, I have taken the occasional BART ride to and from the airport and I did take the bus once (with a chaperon) in my five years in San Francisco, but now I am fully versed in the language of trains, busses, metros, subways, undergrounds, ferries and now cable cars! Today (again pretending this is present day), traveling from Switzerland to Prague, I took two cable cars, two busses, three trains, one plane and one taxi . . . all by 2:30 in the afternoon!

When I was traveling with Wendy, she said every time I go to a new city, it must feel like groundhog day . . . go to the Tourist office, get a map, buy a phone card, get money, figure out the public transportation, etc. This is an accurate description of my trip up till Prague, where I met up with one of my college roommates, Kristin, and her nine year old twins, Cameron and Chloe. Let’s just say my
Entertainment on the Charles BridgeEntertainment on the Charles BridgeEntertainment on the Charles Bridge

I loved walking this bridge!
single rooms the size of a shoe box and metros that I’ve come accustomed to over the last few months turned into the Four Seasons, room service and taxi cabs. It was so great to spend time with Kristin and the kids, but I’m thankful it was towards the end of my trip or it would have been very difficult to stomach all the other places I’ve stayed after livin’ in the lap of luxury for a few days.

THOUGHTS ON PRAGUE
- First impression - this city is the untouched gem of Europe (this was my thought before seeing the McDonalds sign of course). It’s quiet and peaceful for a city. It doesn’t seem like there’s a lot going on outside and then you get into the heart and there is so much.

- I thought French women were supposed to be the “beautiful women” of Europe, but whoever said that hasn’t been to Prague - and they’re super nice to us American women too!

- Another great place that allows dogs to sit inside of restaurants.

- Everybody speaks English.

- Classical music and concerts are everywhere.

- I would definitely go
Keller Family TouristsKeller Family TouristsKeller Family Tourists

Beginning our day in Prague at the Charles Bridge.
back.

SIGHTS
- Old Town Center - Although it’s very touristy, this is a great area and it’s fun to watch all the tourists on the hour waiting for the Astronomical Clock to strike.

- Charles Bridge - Walking across this each day was one of my highlights. This is such a cool bridge!

- Jewish Quarter - This area is a great education on the history of Pragues Jewish community, the development of the ghetto in the 16th century, and the Holocaust. This stat still gets me . . . of the 120,000 Jews living in this tiny area of Prague in 1939, only 10,000 survived the Holocaust. The wall at the Pinkas Synagogue lists over 77,000 Czech Jews that were sent to concentration camps.

- Prague Castle - This place is huge, and a bit like the White House because their current president lives there.


- Petrin Park - We went here to test out the wooden sling shots the kids bought, saw the mini Eiffel tower, and took a spin through the Mirror Labyrinth.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Boat Ride thorugh PragueBoat Ride thorugh Prague
Boat Ride thorugh Prague

We got in the boat in the nick of time. It started dumping rain right after that.
Viewing Prague by BoatViewing Prague by Boat
Viewing Prague by Boat

Chloe checking out the Charles Bridge.
The Clock TowerThe Clock Tower
The Clock Tower

Chloe, Cameron and I waiting for the magical clock to strike the hour.
Mini MeMini Me
Mini Me

Their version of the Eiffel Tower, about 1/3rd the size.
Kristin & ChloeKristin & Chloe
Kristin & Chloe

It seems like I had just seen Kristin yesterday, although it's actually been about 12 years and she now has 9 year old twins!
Lennon WallLennon Wall
Lennon Wall

The day John Lennon died, someone spray painted his image on this wall as a symbol of freedom.
Christy The TaggerChristy The Tagger
Christy The Tagger

I left my mark.
The Pee Pee FountainThe Pee Pee Fountain
The Pee Pee Fountain

Their mid sections move from left to right. Cameron and Chloe thought this was a pretty great sight.
Funky SkullFunky Skull
Funky Skull

At the Prague Castle.
Maze of MirrorsMaze of Mirrors
Maze of Mirrors

The elongated Cameron and Chloe.


14th August 2006

amazing!
this travel blog is the coolest thing ever! i feel like i'm right there with you :). I've been wanting to go to Prague...looks like a beautiful city! enjoy and i look forward to seeing you soon!
14th August 2006

Trains, Plains and Automobiles
Yes, I think it's safe to say you are a master of transportation - all of it. : -) Looks like you are having a great time and Prague is another cool addition to the trip. Have to agree with you, it is absolutely beautiful.
16th August 2006

krakow
Hey Christy- i know this will reach youto late but if you like Prague you will LOVE Krakow- I believe that is one of the hidden gems of Europe. great town full of flavor and great food. Budapest is awesome to! Enjoy-and keep the emails coming.

Tot: 0.494s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 27; qc: 119; dbt: 0.4235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb