Actually . . . it's Vorst


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Düsseldorf
August 3rd 2006
Published: August 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Castle KellerCastle KellerCastle Keller

How cool they live in a castle in the country.
The Keller's in Vorst (outside of Dusseldorf) . . .

After a weekend of luxury traveling in Prague with Kristin, I humbled myself and actually used one day of my six day train pass for eastern Europe. So, as Kristin and the kids flew back to Dusseldorf, I took a comfortable nine hour train ride to meet them back at their house. I don’t think Cameron quite understood why I wasn’t flying. (Currently my time is more expendable than my dollars!)

Kristin and her family are going on their 15th year in Europe (Kasey's work is there) and they’re going on their second in Dusseldorf. They rented this great funky castle out in the country where their neighbor is a farmer with lots of corn fields and cows. It was a great place to chill out, go for bike rides and just relax. I got to check a little bit of Germany off the list, but more importantly, I got to spend some quality time with Kristin after so long. It’s amazing to me that we haven’t seen each other in over 13 years, but we picked up like it was just yesterday. This is when you know you’re
College RoomiesCollege RoomiesCollege Roomies

Kristin & Christy in front of her house/castle in Dusseldorf.
with a true friend. I think about all those times in every day life that one of my old friends will cross my mind and I wonder what became of them; then I go on about my daily “busy life”. Being away from friends and family for a period of time really helps you distinguish what and who is important in your life.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Family Bike RideFamily Bike Ride
Family Bike Ride

Kasey & Rufus. Can't leave the dog behind when the family goes for Ice Cream!
The Grocery StoreThe Grocery Store
The Grocery Store

You have to pay 1 euro to use the cart!
The NeighborsThe Neighbors
The Neighbors

Rufus the dog LOVES these guys!
Kristin's Back YardKristin's Back Yard
Kristin's Back Yard

The castle even comes with a moat! So peaceful.
RufusRufus
Rufus

Getting ready to go to work with Dad.


17th August 2006

HI
hey there...I walked by your house the other day and relalized how long you have been gone.... but I am having so much fun reading all your entries. I feel like I am on vacation everytime I read them.....so keep sending more!!!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb