Volunteers from Scotland


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
April 27th 2005
Published: April 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Mariam and Bob at breakfastMariam and Bob at breakfastMariam and Bob at breakfast

Two of the Scottish volunteers.
One of the real pleasures we have had during our stay here is meeting volunteer workers from all over Europe. Recently three volunteers, Mariam, Bob and Don, arrived from Scotland. Their job, to paint windows and rooms. Bob and Don agree, Mariam is a great painter and has taught them some new tricks. Who ways old dogs can't learn new tricks? At breakfast one morning they said, "Mariam's father runs a bicycle shop. He can do everything and do it well. As Mariam grew up she followed him around and he taught her. She is a very talented young woman.

Mariam is now a nurse and gave up her holiday to come to IBTS and paint.

[Nancy-Bob and Mariam left me with a task. Don didn't go home with them but rather stayed to help other folks finish the painting task. I am supposed to nag Don to take care of himself. I am definitely doing the nagging but I think he is ignoring me and working his head off. I can't fuss too much since I am doing the same. I got to the library at 7:30 this a.m. and worked till 8:55-ran
Bob and Don from ScotlandBob and Don from ScotlandBob and Don from Scotland

Both agree, Mariam has taught them new painting tricks. "She's the best," they said.
to chapel-came back and worked till 11:05-ran and got tea to drink and drank it while I worked. At 12 Bill got lunch and carried it to me and I ate as I worked. Now I am 'taking a break" while I eat supper at my desk and am proofreading Bill's travelblog information. We were here till 9 p.m. last night and will be until 8 p.m. tonight So, if Don doesn't listen, what can I say??] But tomorrow -Saturday- we plan to catch the train and go see a castle. Sound better?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.48s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 168; dbt: 0.2154s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb