Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
June 3rd 2006
Published: June 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me and the CastleMe and the CastleMe and the Castle

The castle was amazing.
We woke up a little late at the wonderful Hilton Prague. We came and used the internet for like an hour since it was free, then headed over to a free breakfast. The food at the breakfast was amazingly good, and I ate my fair share.

Then, around noon, we decided we would head downtown to explore some of the city. I wasn't sure what to expect from Prague since the only thing I know about the Czech is that Bednar (my Pitt hockey teammate) was born there. But it MORE than exceeded expectations.

We headed down and saw all the big sites. As usual, we took the metro. This is like the 7th city metro we have used, and we are yet to get lost (knock on wood). We walked like half the city, and spent 6 hours just looking around. We saw a lot of the famous sites, and we will go to the other half tomorrow. The most impressive was the swarm of bees that attacked like 500 people in some of the main streets, but MOSTLY the Palace of the city. It was one of the most impressive buildings (complexes) I've seen in all of Europe. Great panaramic views of the city, and some of the coolest shops and markets out of the all the cities.

The city is so clean, the people are so nice, and it is just a lot more than I expected. I think that has been the case, that when I expect a lot (Rome), I am usually let down. But when I am not expecting as much, and I get a ton, I love it (Barcelona, Prague). I got a nice water color to match my one from Rome, so I guess that is yet another collection on top of postcards, shot glasses, and patches. But it doesnt matter, because after some quick calculations, and with the money Heather owes me, I am ahead of budget. That is till the World Cup, when I WILL be spending a TON.

Czech money is also hilarious. I paid for dinner with my card tonight, 875 czech koruna, and that was like 30 US dollars. Our flight, was 7600 koruna, and that s like 260 dollars. I love this country. Finally, after a little more shopping, we headed off to dinner at the Prince Hotel. It is a 5 star hotel, and the food was awesome. It was cheap, like I said. I had a rigitonni with spinich, a milkshake, sprite (which is expensive since they charge like at least 3 dollars for any drinks including water), and a crepe desert. We took the metro back up to our hotel with ease, and now we are relaxing all night till maybe going out later. Apparently the clubs and bars dont even open till midnight and close at 7 am, so it could be a long night. Aside from that, we will venture out to see the rest of the city tomorrow before heading to the airport to sleep and fly to Paris at like 4 am Monday morning. I will most likely update again from there, so I hope everyone had a good weekend, and Ill talk to you in my 15th city, and 11 country. Ciao.


To clarify two things people have been asking on email:
1. The food over here has been good for the most part. Of course Italy was awesome, and besides French cuisine, and the Spanish tapas, nothing has been bad. And that says a lot since I have been trying a lot of new things. Stuff I definitly would not try at home.
2. My favorite places (in no particular order, and there are 3, because its so hard): Prague (in one day), Barcelona, and Switzerland.

And with the final tally, as of June 3, I have been in:

14 cities, 10 countries, 10 languages, 3 time zones, 25 trains, and more money than I'd like to think about. Less than 2 weeks to go...


Advertisement



4th June 2006

milkshake
WHO h as a milkshake for Dinner?, You are in Prague, not the Eat n Park in Morningside What do you mean Heather owes you money you owe her 160,000 Hilton Honor Points Have fun the Snyders

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb