Mission of Mercy


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
March 9th 2005
Published: March 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Shaynah and Emanuel Shaynah and Emanuel Shaynah and Emanuel

Shaynah and Emanuel left for home in California today. They will be missed.
As soon as she finished breakfast Nancy headed to the nearest grocery store to buy a bunch of Actimel. We will keep one package for ourselves and give the rest for use by the sick CAT students. Actimel has the beneficial bacteria needed to recolonize the lower gut after flu like diseases or food poisoning, heavy antibiotic use, etc. I made the world’s record time in going and getting back. I left the room at 8:05 got to the bus stop by 8:14 (even with stopping to buy a bus ticket at Reception) and rode to the stop at the grocery store. I zipped up the hill, went straight to the bananas, weighted them correctly so the clerk would not have to look disgusted at me this time, then got 9 packs of Actimel. The lady who checked me out started to ask me a question and I had to confess again I knew no Czech. She answered in English and told me each item had the same price so I could bag all but one and not wait on her scanning. I had taken my small back pack that came with the luggage mom gave us for Christmas a few years ago. It is a piggyback pack for a rolling larger backpack. I put ALL the Actimel in it. One more pack would have been too much. I carried the bananas in a small plastic bag and zipped back down the hill. Tickets are good for 60 minutes of travel time. I had set my watch when I got on the bus. I had 36 minutes left when I got to the stop. There were about 15 or so people waiting. So I knew the bus would be there in a minute or two. When it arrived, it was so full I thought they would just pass us by but it stopped and we all sort of elbowed on. Reminded me of Chinese busses. When I got to Jeneralka stop, Honza who works with us in the library was on the same bus. It was so full I had not seen him. I got the Actimel to the nurse who will see that the students who have stopped vomiting drink it periodically till they are back to normal.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb