Wine Festival!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
September 18th 2009
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today after Czech intensive, we were feeling pretty good because it was friday, so instead of taking naps, we went to a wine festival. It was not what I was expecting at all! We got off the tram and walked into the tented area. There many stands, not just wine stands, but food, crafts, toys, jewelry,etc.. I went there expecting just to taste some wines, but I ended up buying some candy from a candy stand, buying a Czech dessert (it was a batter wrapped around a pole seasoned with sugar and cinamon over an open flame until cooked, then they took it of the pole and gave it to you), eating a potatoe pancake, buying a blue leather bracelet from a craftsman, and almost buying some cheese (but, I didn't because I couldn't read the labels, and although their cheese is good, some of it is a little too crazy for me). There was entertainment for kids.. a man on stilts and a pretty scary looking clown. It was weird to hear the clown speak in czech for some reason! I was convinced that all clowns should speak English (how ethnocentric of me). I tried some of the wine, but
Potato PancakesPotato PancakesPotato Pancakes

They also served sausages wrapped in a torilla-like bread smothered in garlic cloves.
it was not really wine.. It was kind of like Sangria, but less fruity. It was VERY sweet! I tried three kinds and then I called it a day.. It was SO hot today, almost 80 degrees! I was glad to be wearing shorts.. We also went to the bus station and got tickets for Vienna! I called my Polish friend and confirmed some dates and bought my ticket for Poland too.. I am very excited to travel!
I went with some people to get Indian later and it was delicious BUT very expensive.. We had to order rice because it did not come with it, and the portions were very small. But it was still a good time with fun people.. I will have to find some cheaper Indian places! Later we went out to a club that played 80s and 90s.. It was pretty funny. We heard a lot of Backstreet Boys.. We found out that the trams switch routes late at night, and we did not end up at our tram stop, so we had to get a taxi! It made for an adventurous night!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Dessert!Dessert!
Dessert!

These are the things I was talking about in the blog
Kid's playKid's play
Kid's play

I had no idea what was going on, but the kids seemed to like it! ha


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb